TechSpot

020 - winlogon notify

By BenJen
Nov 19, 2005
  1. Hi
    I am new to this enviroment and I just want to post my issues with dealing with a virus.

I am running a loptop with xp and managed to pickup a virus. this virus would consistently load about four different sites and although I managed to block them with the host file from opening the virus would continue to open the sites every time i logged on. So I tried all the usual things like adware, spybot, cwshredder, troganhunter and heaps of others but to no efffect.
    I noticed that adware vx2 tool would come up with "a possible new vx2 varient" and then show a path as c:\windows\system32\filename.dll.
    However I also ran hijackthis and recognised the file name at "020" and on using windows explorer would see the named file. Not able to delete the file as in use.
    Regedit would only show one entry at hkey_users\software\microsoft\...\currentversion\winlogon\notify.. that would be c:\windows\system32\filename as found in Hijackthis.dll
    Everytime I rebooted the name of the file changed, varied from 3 to 15 characters long.
    If hijackthis deleted the file then on normal shutedown a msg would flash on the screen that i could not read. A normal reboot would see another file loaded at "020" in the hijackthis log. I could not get updates for spybot as each time an error msg would be "error check digit" . By chance I also tried to install filemon from www.sysinternals.com but I received the error msg "debug programs" not set. When I went to local security policy\local policy\user rights assignment\.... I found many policies that had security settings of *S-1-5-21-2-2428780762-10161301495-1006 . Not sure just what it meant but when I changed the security setting on "Debug programs" the setting was deleted.

Answer
    After much discussion with everyone I know a friend suggested the following.

disconnect from the internet then
    1 run hijackthis and identify the file -write down the name