TechSpot

10K Raptor versus New Hard Drive

By bman2005
Feb 2, 2009
  1. Good morning-

    I currently have a 10,000 RPM Raptor (Western Digital) 80GB as my OS drive. Naturally with my OS and games (currently FSX+addons) installed on this drive also, I am starting to run out of space. I am stuck in a dilemma. Should I:

    1) Buy a new HDD - 500GB +/- with 16 MB Cache / 7200 rpm and reinstall OS + FSX on that new drive

    2) Buy a new HDD for games and keep the OS on 10k rpm drive (ie - have all game type apps running on the non-default locations and separate drive than the OS)


    I am not sure how much I am gaining on the 10,000rpm drive in the end since the FSX app is heavily CPU intensive. I have a feeling that 7200 would more than keep up with whatever is being processed game wise.

    Thoughts?

    Benjamin.
     
  2. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Go with a WD1001FALS 1TB drive. It is one of the fastest 7200RPM drives on the market and actually has a peak transaction rate that matches that of the WD1500ADFD, which is a Raptor drive. Ditto with the 6400AAKS, which performs about the same but lacks perks such as StableTrac technology and the five-year warranty on the Caviar Black drives. Still, it is an excellent choice at around $60 or so with free shipping on Newegg. The WD1001FALS is for $120 shipped in comparison.

    Take your pick. :)
     
  3. bman2005

    bman2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

  4. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Ah yes, sorry for not mentioning it before. I recommend keeping only the OS on the Raptor. Run all your games off the new HDD.
     
  5. bman2005

    bman2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Cool.

    Last but no least, you don't see any performance losses from applications - games or otherwise from not being on the OS drive?
     
  6. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Not too much, considering that the high-end 7200RPM drives today more-or-less match the old Raptor drives' performance. The VelociRaptor is another story however.
     
  7. bman2005

    bman2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Got it. Sounds like I can't really go wrong doing a clean sweep of OS...getting a new drive and reinstalling FSX over there. It will be nice not to cramp the OS drive. It's down to 6GB...that's weak!

    Thanks for the info.

    Bman.
     
  8. mannywood

    mannywood TS Rookie

    10K raptor is always faster than 7200rpm drive. use it as system drive and buy a new one for other purposes.
     
  9. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Not really, the current crop of 7200RPM drives can match upto a Raptor drive. The VelociRaptor is currently the fastest SATA HDD around however, and is far faster than the old Raptors. It also shares the high price tag.
     
  10. bman2005

    bman2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    Alright, so it's down to the original two that you suggested -

    Western Digital Caviar Black WD1001FALS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM ($119) – 5 Year Warranty

    Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM ($60) – 3 Year Warranty


    Money's tight so the $60 option is appealing however, this is the same train of through that got me to this position in the first place.

    I will put the OS on the Raptor and run everything else from new drive. I am cleaning a complete clean sweep so it shouldn't be a problem.
     
  11. jobeard

    jobeard TS Ambassador Posts: 9,343   +622

    Good choice :)
     
  12. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Either of the two drives will be fine. It is really upto how much space you need. The drives perform about the same, with the WD1001FALS having (apart from greater capacity) some luxury features that are not an absolute must if you cannot afford them.
     
  13. bman2005

    bman2005 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 21

    I notice FALS versus AAKS = 32mb cache versus 16mb cache.

    Is that one of the luxury features that I don't have to have?
     
  14. Rage_3K_Moiz

    Rage_3K_Moiz Sith Lord Posts: 5,431   +28

    Yep. That and other stuff like StableTrac technology.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...