2 Blown Motherboards, is it the PS or the case?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am by no means an expert at this but I have built quite a few computers and have never had a problem like this. A neighbor came to me with a dieing E-Machine, my first thought was power supply. So after swapping power supplies, cpu, ram etc I believe I narrowed it down to the motherboard. After looking around I found a direct replacement for it (FIC-AU31) but it cost over $140. Then I found something that he liked on egghead a biostar M7NCG 400 for a god price (he wanted a decent built in vieo card on a micro atx board).

I ordered one up and installed in the E-Machine case, installed ram, the cpu, ram and jumpers for the power switch. Plugged in the PS and hit the button, it acted like it wanted to work but I could not get any video, I powered it off. I tried to start it again and no dice, I unplugged and plugged it back in and the power kicked on immediately but then the cpu fan started flucuating around, no video at all.

No problem I sent it back to egghead and they sent me another one, I have gotten bad motherboard through the mail before, it does not happen a lot but it does happen. I get the new one and this time set it up on the foam pad with just the CPU, ram, power switch and power supply and it appeared to want to boot like it should, I saw the bios and everything. Then I proceeded to install it into the case with the same set up, like I said I have done this a bunch before I was very careful not to shock anything. I plugged it in and it started doing the same same thing the first motherboard was doing. I removed it from the case and tried the original setup again and still nothing.