TechSpot

27 inch monitor that supports 2,560x1,440?

By Obzoleet
Oct 25, 2013
Post New Reply
  1. Hello!

    I have a 27 inch LED monitor which I bought for less then a year ago, I have always been playing at 1920x1080 on it with my laptop , it is the highest available option,

    I have lately been wondering if there is any way to check if it can support 2,560x1,440?

    I don't have the packaging or name of the model left so I have been unable to check this that way,

    I assume since the 2,560x1,440 isn't available in the graphic options that means it max supports 1920x1080? :)

    I can imagine a 2,560x1,440 monitor is quite expensive? any models you can recommend for a fair price?

    Thanks!

    Obzoleet
  2. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 2,181   +512

    Yes, the monitor will not support 2560x1440p if its highest output is shows to be 1080p, you have to specifically buy a monitor like this one that supports 2560 resolution.
  3. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 4,363   +123

    You can check by counting the number of pixels (native resolution).
    Only counted 2073600? Then it certainly can't display 3686400!

    QNIX QX2710.
    St1ckM4n likes this.
  4. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 3,457   +620

    Not sure if troll answer, or just brutally true answer. :p
  5. Obzoleet

    Obzoleet TechSpot Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 166   +7

    I tried to count the pixels but my eyes started bleeding and I lost my count after 150798 but I had counted over 50% of the screen so I assume it is only 2073600 available in total,

    Ty for answer!
  6. captaincranky

    captaincranky TechSpot Addict Posts: 10,595   +864

    As silly and as wrong as I may be, I think the syntax would have been better, phrased with a double negation. To wit, NO, the monitor will NOT support 2560 x yadda, yadda. It's just not the same as saying, "the monitor will not never support 2560 x whatever". Get back to me with your thoughts.

    For TS, you should always run any monitor at its native resolution. To find out what that is in your case, just google the make & model.

    But had you done that, this thread never would have never sparked this lively exchange of witty banter, now would it?

    In the mean time, please allow me to say, "in spite of that, I'm not never going to say thanks"!:cool:
  7. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 2,181   +512

    ...Let me re-read this again
    ........................
    Ok now I understand, I did not notice the double negative, my bad lol. I was writing kinda fast because I had work to finish, never intended to be an english major.
  8. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] Hello, nice to meet you! Posts: 4,363   +123

    That's not good! Go rest your eyes!

    You see 1920x1080 means that there are 1920 pixels going across, and 1080 pixels vertical. An LCD monitor that has that many pixels cannot display a resolution higher than that because it simply doesn't have the pixels to. Of course, using some scaling and stretching it can display lower resolutions. For example, you could show a 960x540 image simply by doubling each pixel.

    Unfortunately there's no way to force a monitor to go at a higher resolution.
    BTW IMO a 27inch 1920x1080 screen to 27" 2560x1440 screen is a massive improvement.
    By my eyes even my 1920x1200 screen has ugly pixel density, and that's at 24".

    If you're interested in the QX2710, there's a thread on overclock.net that has a lot more information that I could tell you. It's capable of overclocking to 120hz on most setups, but minimum say 96hz or 100hz+.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.