TechSpot

2x Win XP Pro options during boot

By mikescorpio81
Apr 3, 2007
  1. Hi all,

    I have noticed this problem on a few PC's after I software re-build them. After totally backing-up all necessary data and drivers on a PC, I am ready for a re-install of Win XP Pro. I insert the disk as per usual and begin the re-install process. I always opt for a full NTSC format after deleting the original OS partition and creating a new one. It takes a while to format but usually ensures a clean build.

    Once Win XP is fully re-installed, configured and at the desktop stage for the first time, the next time I reboot I get an option during the boot phase to choose which OS to boot to ... both say the same: Windows XP Professional.

    It is not a big deal, in that the first option always boots up OK, but I would like to get rid of this during boot as it confuses some clients.

    It doesn't happen all the time, but out of 10 it would happen around 2-3 times.

    If anyone knows how to avoid or fix this problem please let me know.

    Cheers
     
  2. raybay

    raybay TS Evangelist Posts: 7,241   +9

    Do you mean NTFS?
    You get this when there is not a clean reformat. It only happens when Windows detects software on the drive that was not removed by the format. Do a full format, not the quick format, then shutdown, and reboot to the Windows disc to install Windows.
     
  3. mikescorpio81

    mikescorpio81 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 293

    lol! Sorry, I typed NTSC instead of NTFS! Thanks Raybay, I had a DVD from the States on my mind! :)

    I did a full format the first time around, as I hardly ever choose a quick format (I use quick if the drive is brand new). This is not the first time I have seen this dual-OS option during boot.

    Do you think the answer would be to do a full format twice or more even?
    I can't just re-format the PC in question as it is fully re-build now and operational.

    Thanks for your reply :grinthumb
     
  4. NRJ

    NRJ TS Rookie Posts: 19

    u can edit the file called boot.ini. Open it with notepad. There will be 2 lines that will look the same. Now it is up to you which line to delete and then save the file. Now I don't know which XP is the new one, so can't tell you which one to delete.
     
  5. mikescorpio81

    mikescorpio81 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 293

    Thanks, I'll look into that & let you know how I go.
     
  6. russ

    russ TS Rookie Posts: 39

    Probably if it boots the same with any option you choose then you can just "rem" one of the options.
     
  7. mikescorpio81

    mikescorpio81 TS Rookie Topic Starter Posts: 293

    It does not boot if you choose second option.
    rem'ing out the line in the boot file might work, I will be testing this today and let you all know how it goes.

    Cheers
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...