3dsmax.exe – Bad Image Error

Status
Not open for further replies.
The error Message:
3dsmax.exe – Bad Image

The application or DLL C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_Microsoft.VC80.MFC_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_x-ww_3bf8fa05\MFC80U.DLL is not a valid Windows image. Please check this against your installation diskette.

How the problem happened:

I’ve been working in Autodesk 3DS Max 9 for a few years now and one day I tried to open up the program and I received the error message above.

I think this is a Windows OS problem but I’m not sure

Since I have the student version of 3DS Max 9 there tech support won’t help me.

What I’ve tried so far:

1. I’ve uninstalled the program and reinstalled it with no change in the error.
2. I ran a virus and spyware scan using my McAfee security center and no files were detected.
3. I contacted the Autodesk support and they referred me to a student sight and did not received any response to my question. This site was completely worthless.
4. I contacted Dell’s support and my warranty ran out so they are going to charge me $49 for one time support for this issue. Who knows if they can solve the problem.

Do a search for: MFC80U.DLL
Probably a copy found in: C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 9\VC\redist\Debug_NonRedist

Copy the MFC80U.DLL file from that directory to: C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_Microsoft.VC80.MFC_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_x-ww_3bf8fa05\

Also confirm .NET (MS Updates) are completed in full (there was a new 250Meg update for this)

Any further issues have a look at:
UPDATED 8-step Viruses/Spyware/Malware Preliminary Removal Instructions

Or try re-installing Autodesk 3DS Max 9

I just searched for the mfc80u.dll file and the search resulted in three of them showing up in the folder.
C:\WINDOWS\WinSxS\x86_Microsoft.VC80.MFC_1fc8b3b9a1e18e3b_8.0.50727.762_x-ww_3bf8fa05\MFC80U.DLL

Two of them are 1,095 KB and the third one is 0 KB.