64 bit Windows 7 & 32bit XP MCE BSOD

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a self built system with two HDDs, one with Windows 7 64bit and one with Windows XP MCE 32bit. For the last couple months I have been using 7 exclusively since I have had no problems with it.

The problem is that one day I get a BSOD on 7. After messing around in safe mode I decided to log into XP. I then got another BSOD, so I ran MEMTEST as well as my old HDD scanner. Both tests came back negative. I used the XP disk to repair the OS so I can now use XP. When I used the 7 disk the only tool I found was that boot repair utility, which told me it could not repair 7.

In short I need to find a way to repair 7. I'm still very new to it as I skipped Vista (reminded me of ME).

BFG nForce 680I SLI MOBO
Core 2 Duo 6400 OC 3 GHZ
4GB DDR2-1066
2 x 8800GT 512MB cards in SLI
2 x 160GB HDDS
2 x DVD-RW
802.11G PCI

NOTE: I have always been an enthusiast. However, getting married, having 2 kids, and going into bankruptcy has left me WAY behind the tech curve. Please be patient with me

A repair install of Windows 7 would be a good first step.
Do you have Windows 7 as a download, or do you have it on Disk... on one of the trial installs?

Windows Repair was merged into Windows Upgrade in Vista. I don't use Windows 7 yet as only the upgrade is commercially available right now. Upgrade packages do not allow the "repair" feature. You only get that in the full installation version.

So, you can't do a Win7 repair as you must be using the upgrade version or a release candidate.

-- Andy

I'm using the RC. If Microsoft "disabled" repair in the RC then that pisses me off. I can understand why it's not in the upgrade, but the RC really could use it.