6600gt agp wants to go higher...

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaipanSK8

Lately i have been playing oblivion a lot on my 6600gt (agp) 256mb, 3.0 ghz ,1.5g ram.

I have experienced some really smooth gameplay, but lately, it has been lagging a lot. It detected my settings as medium. I play on 1024x768 without any bloom or hdr. All grass, item, actor and object distances are a bit over half and shadows are low.

Is there anyway I can get my card running to support better frame rates? Any comments would be gratefully appreciated...

- Peace

PS - How do I get a fps rating in oblivion (im a noob)

Its weird, I sometimes get good framerates and sometimes bad ones. It automatically set oblivion to medium settings, but then why cant it handle it? I might try and update drivers (if they are not up to date already!).

I tried to overclock as well, using the msi clock feature. I raised 3d clock from 500mhz to 600mhz and cpu clock from 900mhz to 1000mhz, but it usually crashes with that annoying *****'s voice claiming 'CPU failed due to overclocking' (I will shoot her).

Any more ideas would be appreciated...

- Cheers!

Right click on your desktop go down to NVIDIA Display then select your monitor. Can you see an option for clock frequecies there? IF you can use that to overclock your graphics card instead of the MSI software.

If you cant see that, then search 'Coolb its' in google. You need to add that to the registry in order to get the clock frequencies option.

I couldnt find that nvidia display thing, i downloaded cool bits as well, but no luck. Even without overclocking, shouldnt it be running at least at 20fps? I got an average fps of like, 6 in Anvil (city) while playing on 800x600.

Is there a way that you can turn your graphics down to low quality instead of the automatically set medium??? I might have to do this as a last result. My bro plays on low with a 9600xt with a good amount of smoothness, and mine is ****!!!