A bit of an upgrade, mostly new parts

By LawrenceC
Feb 2, 2014
Post New Reply
  1. So, here is my list of items that I have ordered and have not received or put together yet.

    I already have the chassis and the motherboard, the other parts, ordered just the other day.


    1 x Cooler Master Cosmos II - Ultra Tower Computer Case with Metal Body and Hinged Side Panels
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119252


    1 x ASRock 990FX Extreme9 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157358


    1 x AMD FX-9590 Vishera 4.7GHz Socket AM3+ 220W Eight-Core Desktop Processor - Black Edition FD9590FHHKWOF
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819113347


    5 x Cooler Master JetFlo 120 - POM Bearing 120mm Red LED High Performance Silent Fan for Computer Cases, CPU Coolers, ...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103190


    1 x bgears b-PWM 140 Red 140mm Red LED PWM technology mini 4 pin 4 wire 2 ball bearing high speed high performance 15 ...
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835132030


    1 x 200mm LED Fan on/off for Cosmos II & Stryker / Trooper
    http://www.cmstore-usa.com/200mm-led-fan-on-off-for-cosmos-ii-stryker-trooper-oem-packaging/


    Cooler Master Nepton 280L - PC CPU Liquid Water Cooling System, All-In-One Kit with 280mm Radiator and 2 JetFlo Fans
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00HEYRS5K/


    Enermax Platimax 1350W 89+ EPS 12V Modular PSU 240-Pin 1600 Power Supply, EPM1350EWT
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008PSEMTY/


    Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB (4x8GB) DDR3 2400 MHz (PC3-19200) Desktop Memory CMD32GX3M4A2400C10
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00A6JFWNA/


    ASUS Computer International Direct Blu-Ray Writer BW-16D1HT
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DWFPDJI/


    Logitech MK710 Wireless Desktop Mouse and Keyboard Combo
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0036E8V08/


    Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound 12grams with ArctiClean 120ml Kit (Includes 2 30ml ArctiClean 1 and 2 30ml ArctiClean 2) with Bonus DB Roth Microfibe
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001RUEKNA/


    Plus, I may be interested in getting some new BitFenix Alchemy Multisleeved Cables,
    or some of BitFenix Alchemy Multisleeved Extension Cables as I may need for my PC.
    http://www.bitfenix.com/global/en/products/premium-modding/alchemy-cables
    http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_n...eld-keywords=BitFenix Alchemy cable extension
    That is because the cables on that Enermax Platimax 1350 PSU might be
    a little on the short side for reaching everything inside a very big PC case.


    What I already have now, are my graphics card, and that is
    a Sapphire Radeon HD 6990, a Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD,
    and a 3TB hard disk drive, a Hitachi Ultrastar 7K3000 HDD,
    HUA723030ALA640 (0F12456), 3TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache,
    SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise HDD, and a Blu-ray optical drive.

    Come to think of it, I probably should keep my current optical drive,
    so that I will have two optical drives, this is the one I have now, here:

    LITE-ON 12X BD-R 2X BD-RE 16X DVD+R 12X DVD-RAM 8X BD-ROM 8MB Cache SATA Blu-ray Burner with 3D Playback iHBS212-08 LightScribe Support
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16827106348

    Will this be alright in my rig setup as shown above, or out of place?
    I mean I will be getting the ASUS Blu-ray drive as listed, this will be
    a second optical drive, this Lite-On won't be my only optical drive.

    I'm still not sure concerning any need I may have for extension cables.

    The fans as listed are for replacing many of the included fans, with either,
    higher air flow (CFM) fans, most importantly, or also ones with red LED's.

    Future plans to add to this for further upgrades, a dual GPU Radeon R9 card,
    and possibly at some time (when available), 64 GB RAM, as 4 x 16 GB RAM,
    this is supported by my motherboard, but good luck trying to find any yet. NOT!


    Any useful or helpful feedback or input concerning my choice and combination of items is welcome, thank you.
  2. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 3,383   +607

    Looks alright. Don't know why you're getting such a high output PSU though, unless you get more GPUs.
    cliffordcooley likes this.
  3. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Yes, that's right, not that my current dual GPU card is a lightweight, anyway.
    I do plan on upgrading my GPU, or GPU's in the future, as I posted above.
  4. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Anyway, there is the distinct matter that a PSU that is rated for more
    watts than is needed will actually run more efficiently, and will deliver
    the amount of power the system needs more easily, and run cooler,
    and will use less power than a lower rated PSU that is near it's limit.
  5. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,411   +281

    I'm not convinced that is the right way to look at it @LawrenceC . I think most PSUs are actually most efficient around 50% load, but there isn't much dropoff at 100% load in efficiency (0% at best 6% at worst) based on http://www.silentpcreview.com/A_Better_Way_to_Compare_PSU_Efficiency .

    So if you take the worst case scenario, that would be 60W lost at 1000W and this is assuming that you are close to maxing one PSU out while running the other at about 50%. That would then take 16.67 hours to have 1 KWh wasted. 1.44 (24h/16.67h) times your KWh charge per day ($0.15) = $0.216 more expensive each day to run the higher wattage PSU.

    If your higher wattage PSU costs $100 more than the lower rated one it would take 463 days (100/0.216) at 24/7 operation before you realized any of that efficiency in money saved. That Enermax PSU is crazy expensive, and I suspect you can get a pretty good quality PSU for $150 or maybe even $200 less. That would lead to 695 or 926 days before saving any money. I like Enermax PSUs, I have 2 of them, but they are really expensive and I don't think I'll buy another one on my next build.

    These assumptions were made using the worst numbers from the above link, the numbers will change of course if there isn't a 6% efficiency change. Platinum and Gold rated PSUs only saw a 3% change. If you went to 3% efficiency rather than 6, that would double the time to recover the cost (926 days) right there, not even counting the $100+ you could save.

    Point is, if you have the money to spend, do what you want. Financially it may not make sense to go with a higher efficiency PSU.
  6. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    How about comparing a Platinum to a really cheaper
    PSU that is Bronze or only certified (less than Bronze)?

    Platinum PSU's are certified as such because they are more efficient.

    You considered a Platinum to make less difference only because
    the range or spread of it's efficiency is already less, that is to say,
    it is in fact more efficient, anyway, than PSU's that are certified as
    less efficient, 80 plus certified PSU's such as Gold, Silver, Bronze.

    Part of the expense of my platinum PSU is simply because it platinum.

    Compare it to a PSU that is 80 plus certified and not the bronze level.

    The better PSU's also have better voltage regulation as to the quality
    of the power that is delivered as a different point distinct from efficiency,
    with a bigger range for the AC power parameters it can take and work well.

    I did not really get a platinum PSU only for saving on the electric bill.

    They are superior as to the quality of components and how they work.
  7. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,411   +281

    Not much difference. 7% rather than 6%. I did the comparison for 2 reasons:

    1 - You made the argument that you a "PSU rated for more watts..." "...will use less power than a lower rated PSU that is near it's limit". I was pointing out that it isn't much if any difference, the max I could find was 6%.
    2 - That Enermax PSU is expensive, you can probably get a PSU that isn't near as high of wattage and still a Platinum rating for $100 less.
  8. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] I'm a TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,316   +116

    You can pick up a Coolermaster V850 for maybe half the price. Sometimes on newegg they have big mail in rebates ($30+). It's basically a platinum power supply ad will power dual R9 290s.

    No it's really not worth it buy an unnecessarily powerful power supply.
    I'm pretty sure you're getting ripped off for that Corsair Dominator.
  9. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    1. I did not point out or specify how much of a difference. I said there is a difference. That's true.

    2. I did not need to stay within any specific budget. I liked it. I could afford it. I wanted it. I got it.

    I'm pretty sure that the feedback I'm getting on some forums I have posted at is about "PC envy".

    I have already purchased all of the items listed.
    Advice to buy different things is not helping any.
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 3, 2014
  10. SNGX1275

    SNGX1275 TS Forces Special Posts: 12,411   +281

    Dude, settle down. I didn't realize you had already purchased them that is my bad for not really reading the first post, however that leads me to the second point. I was addressing one specific comment you had made. Thirdly, I don't have any envy.
  11. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

     
  12. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 3,383   +607

    You also started this thread with post count of 1, so regardless of content it looked like a question of "is this okay build?". :)

    Anyways, for your next GPU upgrade I'd be suggesting multiple single-GPU cards.
  13. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Yeah, I am thinking I may actually do that. Would two R9 290X graphics cards
    be better than one dual R9 290X, if they do make one of those before too long?
  14. cliffordcooley

    cliffordcooley TechSpot Paladin Posts: 5,747   +1,421

    It is my understanding that dual graphics is dual graphics, regardless whether it is one or two cards. Dual graphics still require Crossfire and SLI drivers, even though they are on a single card. So the same Crossfire and SLI issues will be seen on both one and two card solutions.

    The most basic question is if you can get the performance you want in a single card solution. The next question is if you are upgrading and want to add an identical card for bridging. There is no other time I would personally consider Crossfire and SLI.
  15. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 3,383   +607

    Yes, 2x R9 290X cards will be better than a single card using the same GPU chips. Simply due to heat/power requirements.
  16. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] I'm a TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,316   +116

    You can (hopefully) always return stuff and pay me the difference.
    Usually 2x R9 290s will be better, but you'll have to wait and see, it's up to manufacturers to put up some good aftermarket cards.
  17. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    I've heard that given the same GPU, the two separate single GPU cards
    will be better than the same GPU on only one card, as a dual GPU card.

    I appreciate having it verified, anyway, it's been a while since I read that.

    I also knew that even a dual GPU graphics card still uses crossfire / SLI.

    Thanks for your help so far, I have a concern about the RAM, if I may ask.

    I still am a bit uncertain as to whether the DDR3 2400 RAM
    will work for me, it is also supposed to be 1.65V, I got it with
    the idea that I am pretty sure it just needs the settings to be
    set right, in the BIOS, or with software tuning, from AMD, or
    from ASRock, some way that I will have to allow this RAM to
    function properly in my system. Basically, overclocking, it.
    It's my understanding these both can be set right so it works.
    I have been frustrated concerning this and the conflicting info
    that pertains to this particular point, what speeds will work ok.
    The RAM I got has these timings: 10-12-12-31, and is 1.65V.

    Here is some information that I found that is vital to this particular issue:
    The memory controller clock speed of the FX-9590 CPU is 2400 MHz.
    I mean, I wish I knew that for sure, but you cannot find that many places.
  18. hellokitty[hk]

    hellokitty[hk] I'm a TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 4,316   +116

    So here's what you have to do.
    1. Boot into bios.
    2. Key in the appropriate settings.
    3. Save and exit.

    Alternatively if you think $100+ is worth your time you can return the dominators and pick up similarly speced ram for something like $350.
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2014
     
  19. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    No, I like the Corsair Dominators just fine! *nerd*
    I just want to be sure I can make it work! (y)

    Thank you
    all, btw, for your generous help. :cool:
  20. St1ckM4n

    St1ckM4n TechSpot Evangelist Posts: 3,383   +607

    The CPU and MOBO have a set range of values that the RAM operates at. By default, it usually picks the slowest one. Since you have 2400MHz RAM, you can pick the 2400MHz setting in the BIOS as described above.

    It's 'overclocking' from the MOBOs perspective, but you're not overclocking the actual RAM sticks.
  21. LawrenceC

    LawrenceC Newcomer, in training Topic Starter

    Great! Thank you very much, hellokitty[hk] and St1ckM4n!


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.