A Q about External Hard Drives and Games

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi people,

I own a notebook/laptop and have previously installed Sims 2 on it
but had to uninstall it again as it slowed down the whole laptop.
If I buy an external hard drive, could I use it to play the game from that? And would it slow down the laptop again? Also, if yes, which external hard drives would you recommend for gaming?
Sorry if this questions been asked before, but I can't find another topic similar to mine.

Hard drives really aren't limiting factors when it comes to game performance. They affect it, but it isn't critical.

What are the specs of the laptop? How much background junk do you have running?

Oh.. I'm not good with technical stuff..good job I left all the stickers on the laptop.
Not sure if any of this is relevant:

512MB
DDR SDRAM

Intel Graphic Media Accelerator
802.11b/g Wireless
Its a Phillips freevents X50 notebook

Does this help at all?

I also have a lot of programs for data analysis etc for university work. Some media stuff, adobe, microsoft office, itunes and all that usual stuff

You are probably limited somewhat by the video graphics system on the laptop... but you are also going to find better performance by increasing the memory to 1 GB or more. That model has a 533 MHz FSB, and 128 MB of video memory, so the memory might be enough.

I'm not sure about Sims 2, but I remember Sims 1 being pretty graphic intensive for its time. I would agree with Raybay, though, RAM and VRAM are your limiting factors.

Just dump more RAM in and it should work considerably better.

Also, make sure that lots of crap isn't running while you're playing the game. I've seen people run limewire, itunes, and nero while playing a game and wonder why the game is running slow. Do an ad-aware/spybot SD scan too and nix any background programs that aren't supposed to be there.

nat154 said:
I own a notebook/laptop and have previously installed Sims 2 on it