Ability levels

bazz2004

Often when reading a post requesting help it's not possible to judge whether it comes from a complete beginner or somebody with considerable expertise. The forum gives titles based on the number of posts made which doesn't always provide an accurate guide. Would it be possible for people to select for themselves a simple three stage grading when they submit a post? For example, Beginner, Experienced or Expert? Someone may be Expert with a PC but beginner with an Android device. I should have thought of this earlier but maybe it will be much easier to implement than all the great improvements that have been made recently.

Last edited:
This is something I believe would be easy to setup, but in the long run be complex and difficult to maintain. This would have to be manually associated, creating unwanted strain on site personnel. Leaving grading in the hands or the user, would be just as deceiving as the current post count.

"Leaving grading in the hands of the user, would be just as deceiving as the current post count." Perhaps that's being unduly pessimistic? I like to think that by and large folks are honest. We'd soon be aware of any posters who were stretching their credibility and inflating their credentials. If they want to lie though that's up to them.

I don't think self grading has ever worked very well at Newegg. Most of their "customers/reviewers", have tended to claim, "Uber-Ess-Pert-hood", to make their E-pinion the size of Mt. Rushmore,. Even when they're reviewing a simple SATA cable. You know like "yeah man, I know my s***, inside and out".! "I plugged this cable in and it worked. But, I'm giving it only two stars, cause you can wiggle it, and it moves side to side, about a half millimeter"....(n)

That said, I'm going to pronounce myself a "rank amateur", so nobody gets the idea they can PM me with their problems.