Adobe products cause my computer to instantly shut off

By alcarin2030
Oct 16, 2012
Post New Reply
  1. Let me start off by saying that I have been building computers for over 10 years, so my computer knowledge is significantly high. This is not a heating issue, I can replicate the problem while watching the temps and they are fine. This happens with both Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Air. Adobe Air is used in League of Legends, a game I play. Every once and a while, while fiddling with the UI in game, my computer will instantly turn off. No freezing, no BSOD, just off. I have swapped PSUs, GPU's, and HDD's. This problem also occurs when I try to drag one picture to another in Photoshop. I do not have this problem anywhere else but with Adobe. Any thoughts?
  2. Cobalt006

Cobalt006 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 1,698   +155

How is your memory. Just went threw this with a laptop. Added more memory. Problem went away.
  3. alcarin2030

alcarin2030 TechSpot Member Topic Starter Posts: 100   +10

8GB of 1600mhz.
  4. Cobalt006

Cobalt006 TechSpot Maniac Posts: 1,698   +155

That should be more then enough memory. I would rather think this would be a software problem then a hardware problem. But could be wrong. Do you have any other programs running in the back ground when this happens? Other then that I am about out of suggestion. I am sure someone here might have a good one.
  5. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,682   +153

What about a malware problem? Have you tested the memory for errors?
  6. alcarin2030

alcarin2030 TechSpot Member Topic Starter Posts: 100   +10

Checked memory for over 12 hours. It is fine. No malware or viruses.
  7. Tmagic650

Tmagic650 TS Ambassador Posts: 20,682   +153

What program did you use to check for malware?

Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...