Advice for novice computer user...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi
This is my first post here so im not sure if this is in the right place...

Ive come to this site alot whenever ive experienced any pc difficulties and thus far it has proven to be very helpful, particularly the forums.

Anyway, onto my question. First things first, im a novice with pcs; i dont really understand much about them only the very basics and selective areas of which.
I have a dell dimension 3000 pc which at first i thought was a pretty good computer, untill i got the sims 2 and other newer pc games. then i found out that it was far from the best for playing more hardware demanding games.
At first i figured id just upgrade the graphics card to the best available for PCI slots but the more research i did the more obvious it became that this might not be enough and that, especially given how fast the dell dim3000 has aged, it might be a wiser decision to get a new motherboard too.

As ive mentioned, im not really pc-savvy and some of this stuff will be way over my head.
So if anybody could give me, in lamans terms, any advice on what to do? i want to definitly upgrade my pcs graphics card (also anybody know a good PCI slot graphics card to use with games such as the sims2?) but im sure about upgrading my motherboard.

Any help or suggestions on the matter would be really appreciated.

if you are wanting to play graphically demanding games a PCI video card is a waste of money. If you decide to upgrade your going to need a new mobo AND a copy of Windows XP. your dell disk will not install windows on a non dell mobo.

download and run SIW it will tell you what MOtherboard, ram, and video card you presently have. list it here and we can assist you in what your best options are.

Hi,
Erm i think im listing the right stuff here, sorry if im not:

Video card - Intel(R) 82865G Graphics Controller (?)