Advice on custom gaming pc please

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have never built a pc before, let alone one for high end gaming. I'm looking to spend between $1000 - $1400 on this. Preferably the best for the lowest price. I don't need components with pretty specs that won't come into use for another 5 years either.

Please don't harass me if I did something stupid, as I'm inexperienced in this and only seek your advice. This is what I have decided to buy so far; subject to change as enough of you deem fit.

Case:
Thermaltake Tsunami VA3000BWA Black Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Price: $119.99

Power supply:

Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RU 750W Modularized w/14cm Fan Power Supply (Black)

Price: $185.03
Video Card:

SAPPHIRE 100200L Radeon X1950GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card

Price: $128.99

Motherboard:
ASUS M2N32-SLI Deluxe Wireless Edition AM2 NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard

Price: $174.99

CPU:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket AM2 Processor

Price: $159.99

Harddrive:

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 "Perpendicular Recording" ST3250820A 250GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 Hard Drive - OEM

Price: $64.99

RAM:
G.SKILL 4GB(2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory

Price: $109.99

DVD Burner:

ASUS Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 14X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM 2MB Cache SATA 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe

Price: $39.99

What do you think of this?

Input appreciated :)

(I had links to the items but it won't let me post them)

Power supply:
Thermaltake Toughpower W0116RU 750W Modularized w/14cm Fan Power Supply (Black)
Price: $185.03
Overkill imho, but it should last for future-proofing.

Video Card:
SAPPHIRE 100200L Radeon X1950GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready CrossFire Supported Video Card
Price: $128.99