Advice on limited graphics card upgrade possibilities

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm not an expert on computer tech really so I'm stuck in a bit of a dialema, I read through the thread started by vnf4ultra about gaming with PCI not PCI-e, and it gave me a little bit more insight into the issue that an upgrade will help instead of abuse about having conventional PCI, but I still have a few questions that need answers.

Well, basically I'm an under-privileged gamer, stuck to a very low budget, and stuck with a Dell Dimension 2400. I recently upgraded it to 2GB's of ram and acquired a 500GB external harddrive just to clear up the internal harddrive. But my main issue is I badly need to upgrade my graphics card, I'm still using the In-built chipset, The Intel "extreme" and its horrible! But I've only come across the funds to upgrade lately. Its been a tight year:( and I just don't have the funds to upgraded to a better system or to build from a naked motherboard.

I have my eye on 2 cards, and I've only got a limited selection due to the obsolite PCI slots that I have. But my concern is, what effect would a 64-bit in comparison to a 128-bit card have? And compatibility factor between a 128MB card and 256MB card? The AXLE nVidia Geforce 5500 FX 256MB is no.1 at the moment, no.2 would be the Geforce 6200, but any of them I've seen are a different sort of PCI . Are they compatible? (Amazon is only for reference, any better deals, please link), My computer is at the moment just barely able to cut my audio work, as far as recording with low latency goes anyway, but its okay, I don't need anything more from what I'm getting from it now, but its my final upgrade is the video graphics for gaming! I love gaming and really would like to play games smoothly not the frame a second effect I have now:(

I just need a little advice really, I don't wanna end up spending money for nothing.