Advice on tuning-up a charity's network

Status
Not open for further replies.

swishsticks

Although I’m not an expert, I’ve agreed to help check and tune-up the computers for a charity which provides a helpline and counsellors for adults and children with emotional problems.

All the people staffing it are volunteers, including my girlfriend, who has told me that no-one maintains the computers there and hasn’t done for a couple of years or so. Which means they're in a less than optimal state. So they’re happy for me to come in and do it on an ‘as-is’ basis. None of the people in the office have more than very basic computer literacy when it comes to the system side.

I’m going in on Monday and would like someone more experienced to check over what I plan to do and make any suggestions necessary to do a good job.

The reason I’m posting here is that it's a collection of tasks encompassing security and optimisation in a network. Although I’ve done all the tasks listed below on our two stand-alone computers at home, I’m not familiar with what changes might be needed when doing these tasks on a network, nor about what I should be doing to optimize the network.

From what I’ve been told, there is a small network of three computers. Only one has e-mail access. Don’t know why that is, but it means everyone has to go to that computer to see if there’s any mail. That needs to be fixed. Perhaps their Internet Service Provider only recognises one computer as being eligible to access its mail server.

Another network problem is that when one user creates a document and saves to to the network drive, other users can't always open it, sometimes getting a message that it's being used.

The computers are about three years old, and she told me they have XP and Office, with Internet Explorer. I assume XP Pro, but maybe not. I asked who has administrator rights, but she’s not sure. She says they do not have log-on passwords, but just turn on the computers and use them…