Age of Empires 3 Won't install

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tongan

When I insert the AoE3 disk and click "install", the computer stalls for several minutes then I get the error message: "I\\:setup.exe is not a valid Win32 application", and my only option is to click OK.

I'm no expert, but I recently had the file rundll32.exe deleted (I don't know how it was deleted), and I have a feeling that this may be the problem?

Anyone who is familiar with anything I have explained, please give any advice on what to do.
Any bit of help would be appreciated.

Registry error, usually caused by using poorly designed registry fix software, or spyware software.

Best fix is to run your Windows XP disc from a cold boot and choose Repair. If you are using a recovery disc from eMachines, Compaq, Sony, and a few others, or an OEM Windows disc, you will likely have to do a reinstall...

These programs promise to fix it for a price
SITESRundll Repair - fix-pc-errors.com
Rundll32 Error - www.ConsumerSoftwareReviews.com
Free Download that claims to fix all dll errors - www.pcdocpro.com

for your own fix, see
support.microsoft.com/kb/138835

support.microsoft.com/kb/139454

and other searches at www.microsoft.com

Thankyou raybay.
What is a "Cold boot", and is it OK to use a friends XP disk?

Thankyou for the help

It is OK to use it for repair, bacause it will usually not be asking for the product ID or Key. If it does ask for it, use your friend's key, but you sometimes only have one to three days to register it, as opposed to 30 days for full installs.
It varies from disc to disc, there are 11 different types of Windows XP home discs, and 17 different Windows XP Professional discs which make it difficult to give you exact advice.

RayBay, you're not going to like what I'm about to say!