AMD 2400+ Showing as 1800+

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is really confusing me !

Firstly i have read the recognise your AMD processer thread & the processers in Question are definatly XP2400+ & XP2800+ although i am a noob at this so please be gentle with me :D

At home i have an mesh computers AMD XP 2400+ & i have just tried to upgrade the Processer to an XP 2800+ by just placing the new processer in place. But when i boot it up it shows as a XP 2000+ this is really Odd i think (maybe you know better)

Also i have taken my 2400+ & tried to put it in the machine that was running the 2800+ (Again by just replacing the processer) & it is telling me it is an AMD XP 1800+ ? i cant figure out what is going on here why are they not recognising the processers correctly

Also i have used Cpuid on the later test & even that say's it's a XP1800+

Please any help is really appreciated as this is an area i would love to start learning

You have set the wrong Front Side Bus speed in your BIOS it is now at 133mhz but should be 166mhz

If you really want to learn i will point you in the right direction for your problem, look into FSB settings, clock multiplyers, read your mobo manual for adjusting these, some use jumpers, some use the bios.
Good luck and if you get totally confused you have chosen the best site on the net for helping you.

Welcome :)

how do i change clock Multiplyers i have seen this mentioned but can't find anything of the like it under Bios i have 2400+ in front of me & have tried it under FSB 133 & 166 & it doesn't seem to make a differance

Some info from the CPU - Z on the Old 2800+ now running the 2400+ & Showing as an 1800+

Codeanme : Thoroughbred (dunno if this effects it ) Green
Core Speed: 1492
multiplier : x15
FSB : 99.5
Bus Speed : 198.9

Cache L1 : 64
Cache L2 : 64
Level 2 : 256 bytes

the machine has 256k Ram & is running a GA-7N400E