Another Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am from the keypunch error but that's another story. I am an amateur geek who supposedly fixes friend's kid's infested computers.
I have a threefold question, but really it is one, as without figuring out the answer to the first question, the answers to the others will take forever.

I worked on this computer at nights for a week, removing an amazing amount, etc.

In the end I have one major problem. The scans take hours. This is because they spend much of those hours searching Temporary Internet Files\Content.IE5

These are in alphanumeric files that are not in the directory of 10 alphanumeric temporary internet files found for the user name in DOS, in cdm etc.; in the directory. They are the same user name (he used administrator !) but are not the ones one sees in the DOS window. How is this possible? How are they there? How can one access them? I am unsure of how to view the entire string of each object to identify the alphanumeric file; the only one I was able to del was one with that insidious Trojan Horse Downloader.Generic3.QFH that AVG found; so I could identify that alphanumeric file in the direction string and delete that file. (the file did delete in DOS but the trojan downloader file reappears anyway).

I notice that to get rid of the above trojan and also Win32.Agent.At which also persists and is annoying, I would have to run many scans. It would be better if they didn't all take 5 or 6 hours due to this crammed to the gills set of unbelievably hidden Temporary Internet Files. How caan I view these extra ones if the directory doesn't show them and how are there more than 10? Would the LInux thing rid me of these useless files (I think)

PCPitstop found that the cache was overflowing and it is set too high as it is. Does anyone know how to locate these Temp Internet files that are in addition to the 10 ones listed?