Assistance with BIOSTAR K8NHA Pro mobo.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, newbie here to the forums & also to building my very own PC.

I recently purchased a bare bone system (Case & mobo) I had to buy everything else seperately.

I am having trouble with installing my Seagate barracuda 120 GB SATA drive on this mobo. My system doesn't recognize it & I have received different advice/suggestions.

BIOSTAR only offers email tech support, which is very slow & is no where near as effecient as phone support. I wrote them about the matter & am awaiting a response.

My second option was to call Seagate tech support, the tech rep I spoke with told me that this mobo doesn't support a SATA HD as only one single storage. He said the only way to get a SATA HD to work on this mobo is to set it up in a RAID configuration, which of course means having to buy another 120 gb SATA HD. THe said I can only set up a single HD using IDE HD's, not SATA, but I have read reviews of customers who have bought this Mobo who only use one SATA HD.

I'm @ a lost & would truly appreciate anyone help here in hopefully solving my dilemma.
Thanks in advance.

Well now I can't even try to install WIN XP, because everytime I hit F6 & I'm prompted to insert FD with SATA Drivers & hit enter, I get the following error message over & over....

" File \raid\winxp\viaraidmraid.sys caused an unexpected error ( 18 ) @ line 2108 in d:\xpsp1\base\boot\setup\oemdisk.c. "

I've tried installing the SATA drivers to new formatted FD's & trying the process over, but still receive the same error message.

I've run an Anti-Virus check on the FD's containg the SATA Drivers, everything comes up clean.

I even tried using my WIN XP 64-Bit evaluation CD to run & when I insert the SATA Drivers during install I get the same error message, but with a different file mentioned.

Has it corrupted my WIN XP CD's? Anyone know what this error message means & how to fix it?

Man it's just one issue after another!