Athlon xp cooling question

Status
Not open for further replies.
athlon xp question

if i get say, an athlon xp 1800, will i need additional cooling/fans? (assuming i don't overclock and i have only 1 fan now)

I you buy the retail boxed version, No. AMD will supply a HSF and you will also get a 3 year warranty.

If you buy an OEM version (which is a bit cheaper) you'll get no HSF and no warranty.

Well, if you go OEM, I think you actually get a 30 day warranty. With retail, you get the fan straight from AMD, so they won't stiff you there. If you go OEM, but get a decent fan, you won't be saving money over getting the retail box... So, unless you're going to go nuts and get a super fan of some kind, just go with the retail box...

i'm getting an athlon xp + mobo combo most likely.
should i get one now or wait til summer? i'm a student, so i'll get most of my free time during summer. i won't get THAT much free time between now and then. will there be significant price drops until then?

well, the new Thoroughbred will be out in the May/June so you may want to wait for it to come out so you can see a big price drop in the XP cpu's. Prices are already good, but they will get much lower when this new technology gets released. Also, if you dont have alot of time to play around with tweaking and setup now you may as well wait a couple months..

Re: athlon xp question

Originally posted by heyzeus
if i get say, an athlon xp 1800, will i need additional cooling/fans? (assuming i don't overclock and i have only 1 fan now)

What the others said is absolutely true. One more point, you didn't specify what kinds of fans so I am also assuming you are interested in case fans as well. For the XP (and any Athlon) I would recommend a case with at least one fan up front sucking air in, and at least one fan in the back blowing air out, in addition to the power supply fan. Do not count the power supply or cpu fan. Here is what AMD says.

AMD thermal paper