ATi All in Wonder 9800 video problem...help please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, I have an ATi All in Wonder 9800. I got it with my new computer which I purchased about a year ago. It has always run smooth and never had any problems.

I recently started playing World of Warcraft, (which is not the first 3D MMORPG I played so that's not the problem) and everything was running perfect.

All of a sudden every once in a great while when playing the game the monitor would completely scramble the image shooting random lines and colors rapidly all over the screen. I would then exit to desktop and the desktop itself would be a bit scrambled but usually not as bad and was usually more sublte patterns that would change with mouse cursor movement...so I would simply restart and it would remedy the problem.

But the scramblings have become more and more frequent lately, and more intense. Now not just does it almost instantly scramble anything that uses 3D graphics but it also sometimes scrambles the image while surfing the net or something. It has gotten to the point where I can barely do anything other than the internet and simple files.

I checked to make sure all the cooling fans where working because I thought maybe it was overheating the graphics card but they were all working properly.

I then went on the ATi website and reinstalled the Catalyst all in Wonder drivers but the problem still persists. Please help me with any information you may have as it is coming to the point where it's a hassle to do anything on my computer. Thanks in advance!!!

Do you have access to another system for testing?

I'm assuming you don't overclock it and you have checked for viruses.

Plug it into another machine and try it.
If it doesn't work there either, the card is bad. End of story.
If it does work on the test machine, put it back in the original machine.
Replace your current hard drive with a spare drive and install Windows.
If it doesn't work, the AGP slot is bad.