ATI Radeon X1300 PRO Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vandal

I just purchased this card and am having no luck with it's install. It is a 8x/4x AGP. I followed the instructions and uninstalled my video drivers (ATI All In Wonder 32mb) and turned the unit off, installed the hardware and regardless of whether I connect by digital or analog the pc doesn't boot. After about a minute or so the bios opens at a screen where it is asking me to select the speed of my motherboard processor. It is a (ASUS P4S333 4x AGP ) 1.7 which I select and it just repeats that process after I save and close bios. One other twist. If I use digital cable the screen does state the analog signal is missing. If I use analog cable it states I am missing the digital signal. The monitor is a SyncMaster 930B. Hopefully I have used the correct terminology in this post. I am not a rocket scientist on these matters. By the way I am running XP. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am back on the All In Wonder card right now.

Thank you

Did you get the one made by ATI or one of their partners. If you got the one made by ATI itself, there is an additional power connector you need to connect to the power supply. Is it connected?

It is made by ATI, and yes it doe have a power connector, I connected it and it seems to be getting power because the fan on the card is powered up.

Any other ideas? Thank you

Sounds like your PSU can't handle the new card, try disconnecting everything you don't need to boot (dvd, cd, 2nd HDD etc.)

I tried disabling 2nd HD but the PC wanted a system disk to boot from. So I thought maybe that was my primary drive but then it wouldn't do anything without that one. So before I get into that mystery more. Please give me your thought on this:

Under Power in the bios it is being reported (with my All In Wonder installed, not the new one)

VCore 1.74v
+3.3v is at 3.00 to 3.02
+5v is at 4.99 to 5.02
+12v is at 11.52

A) is there anything wrong with that picture?