Best dvd/cd burner?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ripken204

what is te best dvd/cd burner out there? i dont care about price, i know it will be around 120-150

heres one

I am no expert in DVD Burners consdiering i dont own one, but i did install this one for a friend and he loves it. 8 MB buffer and SATA are some of the featues that this has. I am sure there are many more out there but i would consider this one.

I have only ever used Plextor for CD-writing. My now 5 years old Plextor PX-W1210S is a SCSI 12/10/32 rewriter, that has never made even 1 coaster.
Sofar I think I have burned about 2'500-3'000 CDs on it.
IMHO nothing beats Plextor, at least for CDs.
As to DVDs, for players it is very hard to beat LiteOn.

I will be upgrading next to a DVD-writer, and it is guaranteed to be a Plextor again.
I just got a new mobo with SATA, so something like this PX-716SA will fit in perfectly.

You'll be hard pressed to find any burners - Either DVD or CD-RW - Which will make coasters anymore. I think any choice you make will do what most people want to do without any problems.

I've installed / used a lot of different off-brand optical drives in a variety of systems. The only real problems I've seen with using cheap-o stuff is sometimes it fails. But I see that even with Plextor and other high-end drives as well so who's to say? :)

ok i work for a very large company and everything is done with computer so there a compter evr few feet
my piont is is that we have used liteon,panisonic,sony,regular generic brands and so on
the sony dvd/cd burners are really good but all the others suck until we started to use th LG burner well this is all we use now for the last three years and i have only heard of two that were bad so i now use LG burners and i havent had a since problem with it and its not badly priced either i recommend the LG super combo

what I have been told by PC parts tech:
only 3 co's make the main components in all burners ? readers