Black screen (of death?) on 2 computers, no way to boot in safe mode

By Anicouni
Dec 21, 2010
Post New Reply
  1. Hi, this has happened on 2 computers, after playing a game or just going for a quick chat onto a game's linked server.

The first computer is a HP m8247c with legit Vista. I wanted to give you a link for the specs, (sorry, I'm writing this on my cellphone, and I can't select and copy the specs from the site). As a newbie, I am not allowed to give you the link, but it's easy to find, although I don't think it's necessary to have the computer's specs to be able to envision the problem. The second computer is an e-machine, built up a couple of years ago and running on legal XP.

My 13 years old son used to play an online game, Teeworlds, a couple of times per week. Our home computer operates on Windows Vista, with Avira Antivir for the security.

The last time he played that game was the last time the computer worked. I tried to ask him what had happened, but he couldn't tell me. Then, a similar thing happened with a second computer... That refreshed his memory. For what he remembers now, the next time he turned our computer on, he clicked on the Teeworlds icon, clicked run, then a blue screen appeared with lots of writing on it about memory transferring to hard disk and a lot of numbers at the bottom of the screen. He then force closed it by pushing on the power button. At the next restarting, he couldn't get further than the HP home screen, not able to get into Windows, and then the screen turned black, with only the insertion pointer blinking. I tried many times to restart in Safe Mode, without results. The computer is frozen, doesn't obey any command, the screen is totally black except for the insertion pointer and I have to push on the power button on the tower to turn it off.