Browser redirects & hpqthb08.exe causing problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

wisconsindad

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting here, and after reading through others' threads, I've tried to ensure I'm following all the instructions.

A couple of days ago, my wife (who spends the most time on our PC) started complaining that she could not open HP Photosmart Premier, the program she uses to manage and edit our family digital photos. When I checked task manager processes, I found hpqthb08.exe running, but locked in at 25% of CPU usage. Each time I tried to open Photosmart Premier, another instance of hpqthb08.exe would show up, chewing up another 25 percent of the CPU memory. I ended those processes, and tried uninstalling all HP-related software from Add/Remove programs, then reinstalling Photosmart Premier, but the same problem remains.

I ran several scans of Avast & MBAM and found a handful of trojans infecting the computer. All viruses were successfully quarantined or moved to the virus chest.

So I Googled hpqthb08.exe file for more information, but when I clicked on any of the results, my browser was redirected to a website advertising antivirus software and popping up fake warnings that my computer was infected.

I repeated the scans and found more trojans. Once they were isolated or removed, I tried opening Photosmart again - same problem. I tried Googling certain processes and got more redirects. To be clear, NOT every search result ends in a redirect. Only some. And for some strange reason, it only seems to be when I'm Googling .exe files. If I Google "Green Bay Packers," for instance, the links work fine.

I was about to beat my head bloody, when i found this forum. I have followed the 8 Steps to the letter, and posted the logs from MBAM, SAS, and HJT. Both MBAM and SAS came up clean on the most recent scans, so I also included some of the earlier MBAM scans that found viruses.

Please let me know if you see anything that will help!