TechSpot

BS0D w/ different rams used, and memtest has passed

By djtech9
Dec 19, 2005
  1. hi ,

    Howard i have done many tests you have recommended.

    i have noticed that many people have these errors.
    dumps caused by 8e/50. i have also 0a/d1/4e.

    my crashes are very random, and happen multiple times during the same day.
    memtest has passed on my ram. i have also tried to replace rams and i will still have these system crashes.

    i am using Kingston Value ram, 512mb, non-ecc.
    nvidia graphics card. (GeForce fx 5200). i do use the general driver updates from the nvidia.com website.
    let me know if any bsod victims are also using this ram, and updating their video drivers with the same method.

    i have attached my dumps, and see if any expert can debug to the source.
    hopefully we get to the source, and its not the memory sticks.

    thank you.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. PUTALE

    PUTALE TS Rookie Posts: 126

    list your complete specs, it would be easier to troubleshoot.
     
  3. djtech9

    djtech9 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    specs...

    hello,
    i will list my specs, but i am aware various people are having these same errors, and we all have different specs.

    -300W powersupply
    -Magic Twin Motherboard model#pm9msr2
    -3.06 GHz intel celeron D processor
    -512Mb Kingston Memory
    -128Mb Asus V9520 AGP videocard

    software components:

    -windows xp sp1

    i have read something on these forums regarding a power supply, which might cause these random unstable crashes. is there a way to check/calculate how much power i am using? in the meantime, if anyone is able to point my dumps to a specific source, awesome. thanks ::)
     
  4. PUTALE

    PUTALE TS Rookie Posts: 126

    yeah, I think 300W is a bit weak in today's standard, specially if your PSU is not name brand. You can check your PSU requirement on this site(http://www.jscustompcs.com/power_supply/) Do keep in mind that the power that's calculated from the site is the overal wattage, in real life, the invidiual voltage is important, specially 12v as many peripheral, ie gfx card, hd, etc, uses the 12v. I would suggest upgrade the psu first to a beefier psu, and hopefully 12v with at least 20 or more amp.

    Also, upgrade your os to sp2, it will increase stability issue.
     
  5. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,994

    faulty m/b or vid

    Hi,

    I've investigated your dumps. Probably the culprit is faulty m/b or vid.
     
  6. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

    kingston value ram is crap. I had two sticks fail in the last 6 months. I have since switched to Crucial with no problems.

    You get what you pay for.
     
  7. djtech9

    djtech9 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    hi,

    @cpc2004

    thanks.

    vid or mobo...anyway to be more specific? was there a certain driver msg?

    my video card, geforce fx 5200..i have updated drivers using nvidia website.
    as for motherboard, what errors lead you to this ? can it be power also?

    as for the ram, yes i know its cheap, but it has passed memtest for 7 passes.
    therefore i doubt the ram is the problem.

    these system crashes are weird. system will be fine for days, then crash a couple of times, then be fine again. its hard to pinpoint the problem, when nothing is consistent.
     
  8. djtech9

    djtech9 TS Rookie Topic Starter

    psu specs

    my power supply is

    Power Focus
    microATX-300W

    DC output :

    +5v 20A
    +12V 10A
    +3.3V 12A

    i think that this powersupply might not supply enough current at +12V, which might cause the motherboard or videocard components to become unstable.

    i am currently looking for another supply, and will test to see if i still encounter any system crashes.
     
  9. cpc2004

    cpc2004 TS Evangelist Posts: 1,994

    If you believe that it is PSU problem, replace the PSU. My finding is faulty M/B or VID as I resolved 5 to 6 similar cases. As you know, hardware problem is hard to determine the culprit. Maybe you are right, PSU is the culprit.

    Mini121705-02.dmp BugCheck 10000050, {bea8c5fd, 0, bea8c5fd, 2}
    Probably caused by : hardware

    STACK_TEXT:
    WARNING: Frame IP not in any known module. Following frames may be wrong.
    f6cacca0 bf886e18 00000000 00000003 f6cacd14 0xbea8c5fd
    f6cacce8 bf802576 f6cacd14 000020c8 00000400 win32k!EngAlphaBlend+0x345d
    f6cacd48 804dad01 0012f66c 000100f2 00000400 win32k+0x2576
    f6cacd64 81fce838 81d94da8 baab1cec baab1d98 nt+0x6d01
    00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000000 0x81fce838

    FAILED_INSTRUCTION_ADDRESS:
    +ffffffffbea8c5fd
    bea8c5fd ?? ???

    POSSIBLE_INVALID_CONTROL_TRANSFER: from bf886e13 to bf81c5fd
    FOLLOWUP_NAME: MachineOwner
    MODULE_NAME: hardware
    IMAGE_NAME: hardware
    STACK_COMMAND: kb
    BUCKET_ID: CPU_CALL_ERROR <--- This is the symptom of faulty mother board or vid

    Followup: MachineOwner
    ---------
    *** Possible invalid call from bf886e13 ( win32k!EngAlphaBlend+0x3458 )
    *** Expected target bf81c5fd ( win32k!EngLpkInstalled+0x2d7e )
     
  10. Tedster

    Tedster Techspot old timer..... Posts: 6,000   +15

    if you suspect bad memory, run memtest86 overnight.
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...