BSOD driver_irql_not_less_or_equal nvmcp.sys

By lothia
Apr 11, 2006
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I read up on a previous post of this
    http://www.techspot.com/vb/all/windows/t-31744-driver_irql_not_less_or_equal-plz-help.html
    And it said I can send a zip folder of the minidump.
    I am unsure how to create that but I have gotten to that part and I have the copies.
    I get the BSOD when I try and launch a game called Water Margin. I was going through a zone loader when it happened, the wierd part is I have already gone through previous zone loaders before. Any ways I hope this is what is required, please help.

    Code:
    Error code 100000d1, parameter1 cdd50800, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 f7d6e260.
    
    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    
    Words:
    0000: 74737953 45206d65 726f7272 72452020
    0010: 20726f72 65646f63 30303120 64303030
    0020: 50202031 6d617261 72657465 64632073
    0030: 38303564 202c3030 30303030 32303030
    0040: 3030202c 30303030 202c3030 36643766
    0050: 30363265 
    
    That was one of two that happened at the same time (2 seconds different)
    This is the second
    Code:
    Error code 100000d1, parameter1 cdd50800, parameter2 00000002, parameter3 00000000, parameter4 f7d6e260.
    
    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
    
    Words:
    0000: 74737953 45206d65 726f7272 72452020
    0010: 20726f72 65646f63 30303120 64303030
    0020: 50202031 6d617261 72657465 64632073
    0030: 38303564 202c3030 30303030 32303030
    0040: 3030202c 30303030 202c3030 36643766
    0050: 30363265 
    
    Computer Specs:
    OS: Windows XP
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm), MMX, 3Dnow, 1.7Ghz
    Memory: 512 RAM
    DirectX version: DIrectX 9.0c
    Vcard: Nviidia Geforce FX 5200
  2. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    Hello and welcome to Techspot.

    Go HERE and follow the instructions.

    If that doesn`t help. Zip 5 or 6 of your latest minidumps together and attach them here.

    You should also update your Nvidia mobo drivers, including the onboard sound driver.

    Regards Howard :wave: :wave:
  3. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    I tried all of that but none of it worked. I still get the same error with the nvmcp.sys
    Any ways here is the folder
  4. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    2 minidumps crash at nvmcp.sys. your Nvidia onboard sound driver. They have a bugcheck of D1. They also reference 108Online.bin as the owining process. I can find no info for this. do you recognise it?

    4 minidumps are corrupt and unreadable. This might be a sign of faulty ram. You should test your ram as per the instructions in the link I gave your.

    The problem with the Nvidia onboard sound drivers is not uncommon. Try uninstalling your current driver and installing version 4.57 of the nVidia Audio driver package.

    Regards Howard :)
  5. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    Yeah I was trying to use that download thing for the ram but I didn't understand it at all. I was trying to check Ram but it asks for a drive to check on its first question.
    Any ways I checked my RAM by taking each out and then putting back in. Each time I tested the game. It would seem to me if I had one faulty RAM piece it would have worked when the good piece was in and not when the bad one was in. Also if it was bad wouldn't it not recognize a RAM change when going from a 256 to a 512?
    Any ways if you could explain how to use the Memtest86 that would be great, because I didn't understand it at all. The 108online is the website the game is from. Actually the site is http://www.108.com but still.
    I also do not think it is the RAM because it is only a year old and it works on all other MMORPG's and many that take alot more space then this game (Lineage II, Wow)
    Should I uninstall the drivers from the Control Panel -> Add or Remove Programs? ANd then remove the Nvidia Drivers + nForce Driver and Display Driver?
  6. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    There are two versions of the Memtest86+ programme.

    One is the floppy version. For this you need a floppy drive. Make a bootable floppy, by inserting a blank floppy disk into the drive and right clicking on your floppy drive in my computer. Select format and choose create ms dos startup disk. Once done, write the Memtest86+ floppy files to the floppy disk. Now make sure your system is set to boot from the floppy drive first. You may need to go into your bios to do this. put the floppy into the drive and reboot your computer. The Memtest programme should automatically run.


    The pre-built iso version, after being unzipped, needs to be burned to a cd as an image, using whatever software you usually use for burning. You then need to make sure that your cd-rom is set as the first boot device. Again, you may need to go into your bios to set this. reboot your computer with the Memtest86+ cd in your drive. The memtest86+ programme should start automatically.

    Regards Howard :)
  7. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    Please help I recieved another BSOD this time I wasn't launching the game. And I tested it, I can still play the game but it is that one loading zone that kills me. But this time I wasn't launching I was looking at taskmanager16
    Also my Explorer.exe is at 100% when I have the game running (but I don't understand why) I have firefox running and it is only using 1% while explorer.exe uses 98%.
  8. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    Your latest minidump crashes with an unknown image and a bugcheck of D1.

    0x000000D1: DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    The system attempted to access pageable memory using a kernel process IRQL that was too high. The most typical cause is a bad device driver (one that uses improper addresses). It can also be caused by caused by faulty or mismatched RAM, or a damaged pagefile.

    Have you tested your ram yet?

    You should also check your system for malware/viruses etc. Go HERE and follow the instructions exactly.

    Regards Howard :)
  9. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    AH yes the Hijack logs I have done two of those how ever they never got back to me.
    Any ways I have been unable to do the RAM check because I have to buy a Floppy Disk.
    I believe it is my Drivers how ever since it only happens at wierd points. But it could very well be my RAM. How do I get new Drivers? I take it I goto Nvidia and get new ones from a link above. But do I just install them over my existing ones or delete all 3 of my current drivers?
    Also I have a question, if I buy my RAM seperately from my computer, is there any way I can void the warrenty on it other then taking it apart? Because my RAM is only about 1 year old.
  10. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    As far as HJT logs go. I promise I`ll get back to you.

    To update your drivers just install the latest drivers over the top of your existing ones.

    You can run the Memtest programme from a bootable cd. Just download the pre-built iso and burn it to cd as an image.

    There`s no point in talking about getting new ram, until we know whether ram is indeed the problem. However, to answer your question. putting in new ram will not void your warranty.

    Regards Howard :)
  11. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

     
  12. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    Go to your motherboard manufacturers website for the drivers.

    Regards Howard :)
  13. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    I am very sorry for this but AMD does not have a part for the driver, every where just goes to the Nvidia because it seems to be a Vcard driver. If you could help on tha it would be greatly accepted. My computer is currently doing the virus scan.
  14. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    Can you give me the make and model of your motherboard?

    Is it just the audio driver that you want or are there other drivers you need?

    Regards Howard :)
  15. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    I have a Processor: AMD Athlon(tm), MMX, 3Dnow, 1.7Ghz Processor which is pretty much the Motherboard from what I was told. Damn I must look stupid. Any ways if you can find all of them for me that would be great, but if not that's okay. You are so helpful thank you so much.
  16. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    That is not your mobo, but your processor(cpu).

    Download the free Everest programme from HERE. It will give you lots of info for your system.

    Regards Howard :)
  17. lothia

    lothia Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 34

    DOes a Shuttle AN35(n) Ultra mean anything, that is what my Mother Board name is. It says my CPU is a Athlon XP.
    Yeah it says my Driver Dates are like 7/1/01 lol so i guess they could be updated.
  18. howard_hopkinso

    howard_hopkinso Newcomer, in training Posts: 25,948   +19

    Take a look HERE.

    Regards Howard :)
     
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.