BSOD on startup

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, I'm having a problem with the IRQL_not_less_or_equal BSOD. I posted earlier but I removed that post and put a new one in a new thread cause it didn't seem like the same problem.

I'm not very technically-inclined but I'll try my best to describe the problem.

Once in a while I'll get the BSOD with regards to some random sys file (once I noticed it was tcpip.sys). I'll restart my com and it goes away till the next time. Until a week or so ago when it started crashing to the BSOD the moment I entered windows after logging in. Every time I restarted, it would crash and I had to do a system restore, which delayed the problem for a while until I installed something which added to the start up programs (ATI drivers). It crashed on the restart repeatedly and I had to do another system restore. Seems like every time I install a new startup program, this happens.

I thought it was a memory problem, so I tried taking out one stick of RAM at a time but it didn't solved the problem.

These are my com specs:
Windows XP Professional SP2
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+
MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
2GB PC3200 DDR SDRAM
Radeon X1900XT
2x Maxtor 6V250F0

Could anyone tell me what other methods I might try? I read through the thread regarding the posting of minidumps and I don't really understand. Should I attach the minidumps now or try something else first? I've managed to view my minidumps but it's all technical jargon to me.

Really appreciate you guys taking time to read this and am grateful for your help.

Sorry if this seams really unhelpful, but I've experienced a lot of "IRQL_not_less_or_equal" errors whit bad RAM and RAM running at too high speeds. I see that you have already tried testing your ram blocks one at a time, but did you also make sure that "Configure Timings by SPD" or similar option was enabled in your bios? (ignore that if you've already tried resetting the bios)