Build your own ultimate P.C.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shnig

I was just thinking that techspot should do a big guide to building the ultimate P.C. diy stlye. Gamespy.com did one a week or so ago but i just think that techspot could do a much better acctual "ultimate" machine guide

More like the latest thing even if it some hardware is a day old?

For the hardware to a nearly ultimate Pentium 4 system, check out this thread: https://www.techspot.com/vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6017 (not ultimate anymore, read more and you'll see what I mean)

Yeah, overall, it's a great idea. However, I don't think it should be on the ultimate parts, it would be updated like every single day. That's ALOT of work, trust me, I've been a webmaster of a site that pulled in 1,500 unique a day on average and the users were so demanding!

What should happen is that there should be a guide for chosing the parts and what you would need as well as assembly. Something that doesn't require alot of updating would be practical.

The "Ultimate PC" is kind of a subjective term.... I mean, what I consider to be Ultimate might be a waste of time for you (do you really want multiple network cards, hot swappable RAID, etc?) and vice versa.

However, I think I generally get what you are talking about, in IMHO the "ultimate PC" would contain some of the following technologies:-

2 or 4 CPUs
CPUs that are over 3 GHz
Over 2 GB of RAM
More than one large hard drive
Hard drives in a RAID 0, RAID 1 or RAID 0/1 config (dedicated PCI RAID controller???)
A large, tall case with several additional fans and an additional PSU for redundancy
A DVD Writer
A top notch graphics card.
A motherboard loaded up with goodies.

Usually, such articles talk about 2 machines, very similar in spec, the only real difference being that one is Intel based and the other is AMD based.

Are we really talking about one of these ...

1. The Ultimate 'gaming' PC, regardless of price.
2. The Ultimate 'value' Gaming PC.