Building a new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

KEVIN564

hi folks i am currently enrolled in a IT coarse and have a good basic understanding of computer components and the way they work. I wish to build a computer from scratch to give me a bit more experience and knowledge. I am still basically an novice when it comes to this kind of stuff so the experience and help of tech spot users would be greatly appreciated .
my first question is what kind of motherboard should i get? I have done a bit of research and have concluded that it should be sata compatible, with a reasonable fsb speed and have room for expansion. please bear in mind that I am a student and will have to save up for each component so not to expensive ;) . thanks

Look at the sticky in the General Hardware forum for PC building. There are a couple of great links there that will help you with the actual building.

And of course, there's always us. :)

Yes there are some good links there,
It's best if we have a budget for all the parts and what you will do with the computer.
And for future reference, 99% of the motherboards over at newegg.com will have SATA support, as will the vast majority of other motherboards you can still find selling on the web.

for a general mid range computer i recommend something like this
case- Antec Nine Hundred $109
CPU- Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 $167
MB- GIGABYTE GA-EP45-UD3P LGA 775 $134.99 ($20 mail in rebate)
Ram- G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 $58.99
PSU- Antec earthwatts EA500 500W $69.99
HDD- Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD6400AAKS 640GB $69.99
Video card- SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 4830 512MB $89.99 ($10 mail in rebate)
thats around $700 and you can just pick a dvd drive and os also do you need monitor ,keyboard and mouse ?

For a gaming build, I would use klepto12's build, with a cheaper introductory P45 at around $100.
Possibly some cheaper ddr2 800 RAM and either a 4770, 4850, or 4870. Even a 4890.