Building a new pc for my girlfriend. Recommendations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

iluvnug

I am currently putting together a new pc for girlfriend. She is a part time gamer like myself. I have already purchased the folowing items: Abit KN8 Ultra mobo, Athlon X2 3800+, 1gb OCZ EL Dual Channel Kit, NEC DVD burner, Evga 6600gt, Seagate 120gb HD. I am currently looking for ideas on cases and power supplies. I am thinking long term durability and reliability. I'd like to keep it relatively cool and quiet. Keep in mind I am a student so I am on a budget. I need the best bang for my buck. Any thoughts?

ps. So far I am looking at an Antec Solution series case.

That's funny you showed me this case. She really likes the same case but in pink.! But really I didn't like the ventilation in this case. And was kind of unsure about the power supply since its a raid max which may mean generic esq. Do you think that it has enough ventilation to keep the system in good condition for years to come? I appreciate the help.

I really like the design of this case. It's sleek and sophisticated design pushes it right to the top of my list. The ventilation looks good. The only thing is the 350 watt PSU. I saw the model without the PSU in it and it looks good too. Now I am wondering what power supply I should get for it? price range is somewhere between 40 to 80 dollars.

If I can just pipe in on PSUs a bit. Good idea on going for the case that does not include the PSU in it. Mose PSUs in cases are extremely low quality, and raidmax is no exception.

Before you pick your PSU, have a read through this thread here: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

By the way, Antec is one of the rare exceptions to the PSU case combos. They make excellent PSUs. If you like the ones Rage_3K_Moiz is linking you to above, you should also take a look at this one:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129155