burning a family video on dvd, help.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cillian4

Hi, I recently use my camcorder for family video I now like to burn it
on a dvd format but I don't have any idea how to do this :slurp: .

What kind of camera are you using? Does it record to miniDV tapes, an internal HDD or cards? You'll need a software program on your PC to capture and encode your raw footage and the a DVD burner to make the actual disk.

As an example (and I'm a noob at this too so bare with me):

I have a Canon ZR400 video camera that records on miniDV tapes. I hook up the camera to my PC through a Firewire (ieee 1394a) connection and capture the video using Roxio Media Creator (note: Firewire is required to capture the video because you must capture at real time ie. 1 hour of footage takes 1 hour to download to PC, and you need the throughput of Firwire. USB isn't wide enough). Roxio basically controls the camera as it downloads the video to my PC and encodes it for editing. The miniDV tape is reusable but I never record on a tape more than once as I use them as my permanent archive.

After the capture is complete I open another program inside Roxio Media Creator called DVD Builder and start to edit the raw footage I just downloaded. When I'm happy I put a blank DVD R in the burner and tell Roxio to "Burn a DVD"). It defaults to NTFS format for US players but you can specify PAL for overseas. When complete it will play in any DVD player.

The raw footage and other stuff is stored on the HDD of the PC. These take up a lot a space so a lrge HDD is a necessity. Also, I'd suggest that, at a minimum, you have a 2.6GHZ level CPU (AMD 2600 minimum), 1GB of RAM, a 6600/800 level video card and 80GB HDD. 3.0GHZ (or equivalent AMD) level CPU, 2GB of RAM, 6800 video card and 160GB HDD are preferred. Also, for many digital video camera a firwire connection is required. You can get a PCI card with firewire embedded for $15 at Newegg.