Buying a laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am currently in the market for a laptop to compliment my existing system and to serve as a mobile to my business. I am an architect and use very draining programs (like AutoCAD, Photoshop, 3D StuioMAX, Rhinoceros) and files often up to 1GB which require a lot of processing speed (upward of 2.8Ghz I should think), RAM (at the very least 512 but perhaps more) and a very good graphics card to support them. Not to mention a reasonable screen (mininum 15").

I have looked high and low on the net for a laptop that fits these criteria but have yet to find one even close. Obviously i would like to keep the unit to a reasonable price, which i would consider around the US$2000 mark.

I was hoping that that someone out there in computer land, an architect or someone dealing with similar graphic utilizations could offer me their advice on a system they may have or may know to suit my needs.

I really appreciate any help that you can ofer me

thankyou

Paris Searles (seychelles)

I think the Sony VAIO's are a great laptop with all the stuff they pack into them. You not only get the funcionality, but you get the pure power as well. Sony is also reputable to some people and hated by others, it's just personal preference.

I'd recommend Dell as long as you arent planning on using their Tech Support...Their Inspirion 5150 can hold up to 2GB of Ram and the P4 3.2GHz. with HT....

i'd go for dell. they are affordable and well put together. you can customize it and choose all the parts you want.

Originally posted by snowman
i'd go for dell. they are affordable and well put together. you can customize it and choose all the parts you want.