can my system support the XFX PVT43GNDF3 Geforce 6600GT 128MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 V

By crazdude
Dec 11, 2005
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. i saw this card in newegg for 129 dollars, hers the link:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814150098

    wud my system handle that card, my specs are:

    anthlon 64 3500
    512 meg ram
    300 watt PSU
    windows xp home edition
    250 gig hard drive
    a pci e interface

    dunoo whar else to put, but if i buy that card i might have enough to upgrade to a gig of ram, if i upgraded those 2 cud i play the latest games in my system?

    heres a link to my mobo by the way:

    http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/...c=ca&product=1148036&dlc=en&docname=c00496280

    it even has pretty diagrams :)
  2. DonNagual

    DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 3,565

    If your motherboard has that PCIexpress x16 slot, then yes you will be able to use that card. That plus upgrading to a gig of ram would make for a nice gaming system.

    It really depends on your preferences. That 6600gt card is an entry level card. So for the newest games, you will not be able to turn up all the settings in the games for all the eye candy. But at mid to low settings you should get some good framerates.

    The only thing that worries me about your system is your PSU.

    Go here: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp

    And calculate how much you need.

    Am I having dejavue? Have we had this conversation? :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:
  3. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    i think, lol, well, any other video cards u recomend, my budget is like 150 bucks, lol, i managed to pile that much up, am not that worries about ram for the moment, just wanna find a good video card in that price range. by the way i have an intergrated ati chipset in my mobo, wud i have troubles if i try to put an nvidia card in a mobo with an ati chipset?
  4. DonNagual

    DonNagual TechSpot Ambassador Posts: 3,565

  5. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    recomend any other cards? i wanna make sure i get most eye candy out of games, remeber i only have a 150 dollar budget
  6. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,382   +205

    I don't have a recommendation for a new card at the moment but I will say you shouldn't have any problem using an Nvidia card with a mobo with an ATI chipset.

    However, don't overlook the power supply issue that DonNagual brought up. I checked the requirements of the 6600gt and the MINIMUM recommended is 300W. If you get a better Nvidia card like you're looking for now, it will probably need more power than your power supply can provide. Even with a 6600gt it is marginal and it also assumes your power supply is providing an honest 300 watts.
  7. mailpup

    mailpup TS Special Forces Posts: 8,382   +205

    Edit: Before I could post my comment, the TWO posts ahead of me appeared. If mine seems a bit out of sequence, it is. And somehow I managed to duplicate my post so this comment came out separate. :( Duh.
  8. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    wut kinda games do u plan on playing? I myself have the 6600GT and Im playing most games (atleast the ones that I like) all on highest settings. the only thing is on the newest games I have to set my resolution to 1024 in order to get decent framerates.. as in 30fps+

    for ur budget, I think the 6600GT is good. The powersupply is not really needed right now. 300watt.. i would say its actually only letting u use about 250watts of that ..max. depending on what brand.
  9. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    i mostly want to play rome total war and age of empires 3, i dont mind playing them both on med settings, its still decent.
  10. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    ohhh then the 6600GT will treat u and your pocket well. I play age of empires 3 occasionally and Im getting good FPS on medium/high settings at 1024x768. I'll post some screenshots for you.......
  11. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    everything on high at 1280x1024 resolution:
    http://img489.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051203041114037pi.jpg

    the settings I play on:
    http://img492.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051212043124571id.jpg
    http://img492.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051212043213061kr.jpg
    http://img492.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051212043228047co.jpg
    http://img492.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051212043253039ts.jpg

    The settings:
    http://img492.imageshack.us/my.php?image=age320051212043323074wj.jpg
    everything else below that is on high.
    Also I play in windowed mode (cuz i like to chat and browse when the enemy is boring lol) so u can prolly push more fps out of the card if ur playing the game in full screen. :p

    this is NFS:MW its resolution 1280x1024 with all settings on high (cept for AA and shadows). I only get 20-25 fps on this resolution though and setting though. I play the game at 1024 highest settings. and i get a good steady 30fps. sometimes 35 depending on the location.
    http://img498.imageshack.us/my.php?image=speed20051206190411852mq.jpg

    Anyway, I hope this gives you a pretty good idea of what the 6600GT can do.
    oh.. heres some benchmarks I did incase u wanna know.

    3DMark05 = 3539 after: 3822
    3DMark03 = 8090 after: 8565
    3DMark01 = 16749 after: 16682

    dont mind the lower score on the 3dmark01. i restarted after OCing and it resetted my card to default (i used coolbits) and didnt kno n went on with the bench neway. Anywho im too lazy to redo the bench but id say it can get over 17k on 3dmark01..... good luck tell me which card u end up getting :D
     
  12. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    well, a 6600 gt most likely, if am really lucky i might persuade my parents to help me get a 6800, lol, but am sure i wud need a new PSU
  13. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    get the Fortron PSU here: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16817104953

    I got the 450Watt one for 54 CDN.. thats like 45 USD maybe.. good PSU so far. I've OC'ed my system and everythings stable with it =]

    anyway good luck oh pls dont get the 6800... if ur gonna get a 6800.. might as well step up all the way and get atleast the 6800GS for 200$.. u wont regret it.

    Patience is always what screws ppl up (like me lol) so if i were u id wait a couple weeks. earn up some money.. earn up some brownie point from ur parents.. and then get the 6800GS
  14. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    meh, well, i dont wanna get a new video card and see no improvement from my recent one, it wud be a waste of money.....
  15. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    what card do u have now?
  16. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    its an intergrated ATI Radeon express 200 with up 2 256 mb of shared memory (no clue how to set the shared)
  17. truflip

    truflip Newcomer, in training Posts: 590

    then the 6600GT will be a big improvement. it has 128mb but that doesnt even really matter unless ur playing F.E.A.R or BF2. some people think the higher MB the better. but the GPU and clock speed also plays a big factor. I think the 6600GT is ur best choice. if u have the extra money. go for the 6800GS
  18. crazdude

    crazdude Newcomer, in training Topic Starter Posts: 198

    but will it be a super huge difference on games?
Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.


Add New Comment

TechSpot Members
Login or sign up for free,
it takes about 30 seconds.
You may also...


Get complete access to the TechSpot community. Join thousands of technology enthusiasts that contribute and share knowledge in our forum. Get a private inbox, upload your own photo gallery and more.