Can someone explain the significane of fan rpm reporting/monitoring?

Status
Not open for further replies.

macx

On an ATX board (mine is an ASUS P4C800-E Del) there are 3 connectors for fans, one of which is ordinarily for
the CPU fan, but I understand they have a common power feed so any fan be hooked to any one of them.

Now, first, is it good or not good to hook fans to the board? I read a post somewhere suggesting it wasn't.

Second, does the board control the rpms of the fans
based on heat, or ??? Or does it just report the rpms
to a monitor if you have one.

Trying to get this all learned so I can adequately
cool my new system. I know I need more case
fans from what info I've dug up recently -
but would like to know about this rpm thing.

Thanks!!

It will depend on the chipset on your motherboard as to whether its capable of speedcontroling fans, most dont.
Personally i prefer to use a fan controller to run all fans, I have a CoolerMaster Aerogate II to which i connect all my fans as it will control them according to temperature and gives of an alarm sound if a fan fails on me.
Its entirely up to you how you set your system up, but , some mobos cant handle putting too much power through them for fans, whereas a fan speed controller will tell you in the instruction manual how much it can handle.
As an example, i have gone for overkill on the cooling front, my aerogate has 4 outputs and I'm using more fans than that, so 2 of then are both connected to one output (i did check power consumption before doing this) and all works fine.

Although I believe mine is set up to do that (am at work,
don't have the info in front of me - ASUS P4C800E-Del)
I've also read about limitations on supplying fan power
thru any board.

I'll look into that fan controller thing - sounds like a safer way to go.

Thanks for the info!

OK - now for a fan controller,
do I need what's called
"rpm sensing" fans?

What's the "rpm sensing" thing
all about, and do I need it -