Cannot open Outlook

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rags

Hello

Please can someone help?

My ISP is AOL & I have been using Outlook without difficulty for about three months but yesterday when I double clicked on the icon I got this message:

[CENTER]ERROR MESSAGE[/CENTER]

"Cannot start Microsoft Office Outlook. Unable to open Outlook window. The set of folders could not be opened. The server is not available. Contact your administrator if this condition persists."

While error message is still showing, Outlook icon will appear on bottom 'information' bar. When I double click on this icon, this message appears:

"Outlook is not responding. If you are using an Exchange Server E-mail account, you can cancel pending server requests by clicking on the Outlook icon in the notifications area and then clicking Cancel Server Request on the short cut menu."

Has anyone had this problem & has managed to solve it & if so, how did you do it?!

Thanks

Me too....same error message

I got the same error message this morning after using outlook with no problems for ages. Please somebody help

If you still have your office CD, try doing a repair installation. Run the CD, select Repair Office, then select Detect And Repair Errors In My Office Installation. See if this helps

mdn

Well this is a problem everybody is facing. The best way I suggest is to disable any software that shares Outlook Address book like WIN-fax. They may help you. Or alternatively you have to reinstall the whole software once again, but remember to back up the pst file.
Best of luck
mdn

Hi y'all

Well, I finally got a microsoft assistant to email me back, so here are his recommendations. The third option allowed me to open outlook, but as yet I can't access any of my calendars from the origional outlook profile, and I'll keep you posted about any further developments. Thanks for your concern guys.

Dear Michelle,