Can't get GPO Editor to work with Active Directory

Status
Not open for further replies.

mephisto_007

Hi, I am a complete newbie to window server though I had manage to install it without any real issue. I had put up Active Directory and get a client (xp) to join its domain and I'm really impress with what it' does since my purpose of wanting to use server was just for Centralizing our small company files. now here come the whole day headaches I wanted to apply the Group Policy's permission/restriction for each individual user to work with Active Directory but I' can't seem to get it right no matter how hard try.

Let say, User 1 (Clients whose connect to domain) can only access a specific Folder but not User 2 and User 2 can access a specific Folder but not restricted for User 1 , user 3 can't access it's local control panel, user 4 can't save or create file on desktop and so forth

Can someone please walk me through step by step on how to achieve this very issue, please help me out...

Hmm.. So what's with the subject? Can you actually create policies and suchlike?

For folder access you don't need policies. Filesystem access is set in the security tab of the folder properties. You can give and revoke access by users and groups no problem. (Or do you want to restrict this folder on a lot of computers at once?)

Before you can do anything with GPOs, you have to download and install the management utility: gpmc.msi Play around with it a little and see some guides about it on the net.

A step by step how to would be pointless because you would miss a lot of essential facts about group policies.

Nodsu said:
For folder access you don't need policies. Filesystem access is set in the security tab of the folder properties. You can give and revoke access by users and groups no problem. (Or do you want to restrict this folder on a lot of computers at once?)