TechSpot

Cleaning malware from PC

By Jantink
Aug 11, 2010
  1. I've followed the instructions for the 8-step virus/malware removal and am posting the logs as instructed:

    Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware 1.46
    www.malwarebytes.org

    Database version: 4415

    Windows 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
    Internet Explorer 7.0.5730.13

    8/10/2010 6:03:42 PM
    mbam-log-2010-08-10 (18-03-42).txt

    Scan type: Quick scan
    Objects scanned: 186620
    Time elapsed: 27 minute(s), 53 second(s)

    Memory Processes Infected: 0
    Memory Modules Infected: 0
    Registry Keys Infected: 3
    Registry Values Infected: 0
    Registry Data Items Infected: 2
    Folders Infected: 0
    Files Infected: 1

    Memory Processes Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Memory Modules Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Keys Infected:
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Ext\Stats\{549b5ca7-4a86-11d7-a4df-000874180bb3} (Trojan.Agent) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\The Weather Channel (Adware.Hotbar) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\Weather Services (Adware.Hotbar) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Registry Values Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Registry Data Items Infected:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center\AntiVirusDisableNotify (Disabled.SecurityCenter) -> Bad: (1) Good: (0) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center\FirewallDisableNotify (Disabled.SecurityCenter) -> Bad: (1) Good: (0) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.

    Folders Infected:
    (No malicious items detected)

    Files Infected:
    C:\WINDOWS\Fonts\a_pizzaz.exe (Worm.Archive) -> Quarantined and deleted successfully.


    _________________________________________

    Thanks for all your help!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Welcome aboard [​IMG]

    Please, never zip any logs.
    Repost straight GMER file.

    Also, you're not saying what the issues are.
     
  3. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    When I tried to load the log without zipping, it said it was too big for that type of file and wouldn't allow me to load it. Max file size is 200K and my gmer.log is 215.5. So I zipped the file...is there a way of making it smaller without zipping so I can load it?

    The issues are the computer loads very slowly and we were having problems with Firefox not loading and hanging. We were getting a Windows installer screen that would never complete whatever it was trying to load.

    I had run Spybot and it had found a number of different infections, which it said it fixed, but there was a long list of other problems that it said Access denied for. Virtumond.scd was one of them. I looked it up online and found this forum and decided to try your protocol.

    ETA: I broke the gmer.log into two files so that I could upload them.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    I went ahead and ran Spybot again and the same long list of errors comes up. I'm thinking it's something wrong with Spybot rather than something wrong with my computer, since running the Malwarebytes program again doesn't turn up anything. the only thing that Spybot is finding is cookies, which it fixes by putting an opt-out cookie in its place.

    the error that Spybot comes up with is a long list of different malware and it will say, ERROR Access denied at address 0000000 next to every single one (and there are over a hundred at least)...could it be trying to access a library in Spybot and returning this error instead? It seems incredible that I would have that much junk on this machine when Malwarebytes could not find any of it.
     
  5. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Our instructions clearly say:

    Please download ComboFix from Here or Here to your Desktop.

    **Note: In the event you already have Combofix, this is a new version that I need you to download. It is important that it is saved directly to your desktop**
    1. Please, never rename Combofix unless instructed.
    2. Close any open browsers.
    3. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.
      • Very Important! Temporarily disable your anti-virus, script blocking and any anti-malware real-time protection before performing a scan. They can interfere with ComboFix or remove some of its embedded files which may cause "unpredictable results".
      • Click on this link to see a list of programs that should be disabled. The list is not all inclusive. If yours is not listed and you don't know how to disable it, please ask.
      NOTE1. If Combofix asks you to install Recovery Console, please allow it.
      NOTE 2. If Combofix asks you to update the program, always do so.
      • Close any open browsers.
      • WARNING: Combofix will disconnect your machine from the Internet as soon as it starts
      • Please do not attempt to re-connect your machine back to the Internet until Combofix has completely finished.
      • If there is no internet connection after running Combofix, then restart your computer to restore back your connection.
    4. Double click on combofix.exe & follow the prompts.
    5. When finished, it will produce a report for you.
    6. Please post the "C:\ComboFix.txt"
    **Note: Do not mouseclick combofix's window while it's running. That may cause it to stall**

    Make sure, you re-enable your security programs, when you're done with Combofix.

    DO NOT make any other changes to your computer (like installing programs, using other cleaning tools, etc.), until it's officially declared clean!!!
     
  6. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Thanks!

    I've run Combofix and have attached the log.

    One problem I had was that it told me that Norton Internet Security real-time scan is running on my computer.

    But I got rid of (or thought I had) Norton over 3 years ago and used their tool to remove it from my system. It should not be running at all. I know how hard Norton is to remove from your system, but I really thought I had gotten all of it.

    I did find a folder with some Norton stuff in it in my Unused Desktop icons folder, which I threw in the Recycle Bin and emptied the bin before I clicked okay. It told me it was still running. I checked Windows Task Manager to see if I could spot which file it was, but there was nothing that looked like a symantec or norton file. So I had to proceed and hope that it wouldn't bolix up the scan. Seemed to run okay, though.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    You did just fine :)
    Let me take a look at the log.
     
  8. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Unless you installed Viewpoint Manager knowledgeably...
    Go Start>Control Panel>Add\Remove (Programs and Features in Vista), and...
    Uninstall any of the following programs associated with Viewpoint:
    * Viewpoint Manager
    * Viewpoint Media Player
    * Viewpoint Toolbar
    This program does not do anything bad such as deliver ads or spy on you, but it is considered foistware ("drive-by-install") as it is installed without your consent through programs like AOL, AIM, Compuserve, etc.

    ========================================================================

    1. Please open Notepad
    • Click Start , then Run
    • Type notepad .exe in the Run Box.

    2. Now copy/paste the entire content of the codebox below into the Notepad window:

    Code:
    File::
    c:\windows\Internet Logs\xDB3F.tmp
    c:\windows\Internet Logs\xDB3E.tmp
    c:\windows\Internet Logs\xDB3D.tmp
    
    
    
    Registry::
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\software\microsoft\security center\Monitoring\ZoneLabsFirewall]
    "DisableMonitoring"=-
    
    
    SecCenter::
    {990F9400-4CEE-43EA-A83A-D013ADD8EA6E}
    {7C21A4C9-F61F-4AC4-B722-A6E19C16F220}
    {E10A9785-9598-4754-B552-92431C1C35F8}
    
    

    3. Save the above as CFScript.txt

    4. Close/disable all anti virus and anti malware programs again, so they do not interfere with the running of ComboFix.

    5. Then drag the CFScript.txt into ComboFix.exe as depicted in the animation below. This will start ComboFix again.

    [​IMG]


    6. After reboot, (in case it asks to reboot), please post the following reports/logs into your next reply:
    • Combofix.txt
     
  9. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Okay, removed Viewpoint Manager and Media player...didn't have the toolbar.

    Ran combofix again as directed. Here is the log. I did find more Norton files buried in my program files, but it doesn't show up on any list of any uninstall tool I have. None of the executable files seem to be running when I look in task manager. I will go and sh*tcan it after all this is over. Stinkin' Norton anyway. Though ZoneAlarm is getting to be about as intrusive.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Good :)

    How is computer doing at the moment?

    Uninstall Combofix:
    Go Start > Run [Vista users, go Start>"Start search"]
    Type in:
    Combofix /Uninstall
    Note the space between the "Combofix" and the "/Uninstall"
    Click OK (Vista users - press Enter).
    Restart computer.

    =====================================================================

    Download OTL to your Desktop.

    * Double click on the icon to run it. Make sure all other windows are closed and to let it run uninterrupted.
    * Under the Custom Scan box paste this in:



    netsvcs
    drivers32 /all
    %SYSTEMDRIVE%\*.*
    %systemroot%\system32\Spool\prtprocs\w32x86\*.dll
    %systemroot%\system32\*.wt
    %systemroot%\system32\*.ruy
    %systemroot%\Fonts\*.com
    %systemroot%\Fonts\*.dll
    %systemroot%\system32\spool\prtprocs\w32x86\*.tmp
    %systemroot%\*. /mp /s
    /md5start
    /md5stop
    CREATERESTOREPOINT
    %systemroot%\system32\*.dll /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\Tasks\*.job /lockedfiles
    %systemroot%\System32\config\*.sav
    %systemroot%\system32\user32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2_32.dll /md5
    %systemroot%\system32\ws2help.dll /md5
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\WindowsUpdate\AU
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\WindowsUpdate\Auto Update\Results\Install|LastSuccessTime /rs



    * Click the Quick Scan button. Do not change any settings unless otherwise told to do so. The scan wont take long.
    • When the scan completes, it will open two notepad windows: OTL.txt and Extras.txt. These are saved in the same location as OTL.
    • Please copy (Edit->Select All, Edit->Copy) the contents of these files, one at a time, and post them back here.


    Bed time for me. See you tomorrow :)
     
  11. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Computer is running fine right now. The initial Malwarebytes scan and removal seemed to take care of the random Windows Installer window and sped everything up quite a bit.

    I will do the next steps and see you in the morning.
     
  12. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    I've attached OTL.txt and Extras.txt because they are too long to paste here.
     

    Attached Files:

  13. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Run OTL
    • Under the Custom Scans/Fixes box at the bottom, paste in the following

      Code:
      :OTL
      O2 - BHO: (no name) - {761233B6-F228-49E4-8F6B-668499D4E55A} - No CLSID value found.
      O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - {BA52B914-B692-46c4-B683-905236F6F655} - No CLSID value found.
      O3 - HKLM\..\Toolbar: (no name) - {C17590D2-ECB4-4b15-8820-F58798DCC118} - No CLSID value found.
      O3 - HKCU\..\Toolbar\ShellBrowser: (no name) - {42CDD1BF-3FFB-4238-8AD1-7859DF00B1D6} - No CLSID value found.
      O3 - HKCU\..\Toolbar\ShellBrowser: (no name) - {A057A204-BACC-4D26-9990-79A187E2698E} - No CLSID value found.
      O6 - HKLM\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Restrictions present
      O7 - HKCU\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Control Panel present
      O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem : Email ID Preferences - {400A6CFA-E326-4d61-A90C-9AD75358DC5F} - Reg Error: Key error. File not found
      O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem : About Email ID - {BC3F6B6D-2E49-4603-B028-7411655713F3} - Reg Error: Key error. File not found
      O16 - DPF: {B020B534-4AA2-4B99-BD6D-5F6EE286DF5C} https://a248.e.akamai.net/f/248/5462/2h/www.symantecstore.com/v2.0-img/operations/symbizpr/xcontrol/SymDlBrg.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0014-0002-0000-ABCDEFFEDCBA} http://java.sun.com/products/plugin/autodl/jinstall-142-windows-i586.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O16 - DPF: {CAFEEFAC-0016-0000-0007-ABCDEFFEDCBA} http://java.sun.com/update/1.6.0/jinstall-1_6_0_07-windows-i586.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      O16 - DPF: Microsoft XML Parser for Java file://C:\WINDOWS\Java\classes\xmldso.cab (Reg Error: Key error.)
      [2010/08/12 01:21:38 | 000,000,000 | ---D | M] -- C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Viewpoint
      
      
      :Services
      
      :Reg
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\DomainProfile]
      "EnableFirewall" =dword:00000001
      [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\SharedAccess\Parameters\FirewallPolicy\StandardProfile]
      "EnableFirewall" =dword:00000001
      
      :Files
      
      :Commands
      [purity]
      [emptytemp]
      [emptyflash]
      [Reboot]
      
    • Then click the Run Fix button at the top
    • Let the program run unhindered, reboot the PC when it is done
    • You will get a log that shows the results of the fix. Please post it.
     
  14. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Check! Here is the log.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Good :)

    Last scans...

    1. Download Security Check from HERE, and save it to your Desktop.
    • Double-click SecurityCheck.exe
    • Follow the onscreen instructions inside of the black box.
    • A Notepad document should open automatically called checkup.txt; please post the contents of that document.


    2. Download Temp File Cleaner (TFC)
    • Double click on TFC.exe to run the program.
    • Click on Start button to begin cleaning process.
    • TFC will close all running programs, and it may ask you to restart computer.


    3. Go to Kaspersky website and perform an online antivirus scan.

    • Disable your active antivirus program.
    • Read through the requirements and privacy statement and click on Accept button.
    • It will start downloading and installing the scanner and virus definitions. You will be prompted to install an application from Kaspersky. Click Run.
    • When the downloads have finished, click on Settings.
    • Make sure these boxes are checked (ticked). If they are not, please tick them and click on the Save button:
      • Spyware, Adware, Dialers, and other potentially dangerous programs
      • Archives
      • Mail databases
    • Click on My Computer under Scan.
    • Once the scan is complete, it will display the results. Click on View Scan Report.
    • You will see a list of infected items there. Click on Save Report As....
    • Save this report to a convenient place. Change the Files of type to Text file (.txt) before clicking on the Save button. Then post it here.
     
  16. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    I had to disable AdAware because it tried to tell me that Security Check was a trojan.

    I've attached Checkup.txt


    As far as the Kaspersky scan, it successfully completed the scan and didn't find any infections. There was no report to save in the window that I could see, but Firefox crashed right after that and if there was one, it's gone now. I got a few Firefox script errors while running it, but it started right up again when I hit continue.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Please, update your Firefox.

    =====================================================================

    We need to remove old Java version and its remnants...

    Download JavaRa to your desktop and unzip it to its own folder
    • Run JavaRa.exe (Vista users! Right click on JavaRa.exe, click Run As Administrator), pick the language of your choice and click Select. Then click Remove Older Versions.
    • Accept any prompts.

    =========================================================================

    OTL Clean-Up
    Clean up with OTL:

    * Double-click OTL.exe to start the program.
    * Close all other programs apart from OTL as this step will require a reboot
    * On the OTL main screen, press the CLEANUP button
    * Say Yes to the prompt and then allow the program to reboot your computer.

    If you still have any tools or logs leftover on your computer you can go ahead and delete those off of your computer now.

    =======================================================================

    Your computer is clean [​IMG]


    1. We need to reset system restore to prevent your computer from being accidentally reinfected by using some old restore point(s). We'll create fresh, clean restore point.

    Turn off System Restore:

    - Windows XP:
    1. Click Start.
    2. Right-click the My Computer icon, and then click Properties.
    3. Click the System Restore tab.
    4. Check "Turn off System Restore".
    5. Click Apply.
    6. When turning off System Restore, the existing restore points will be deleted. Click Yes to do this.
    7. Click OK.
    - Windows Vista and 7:
    1. Click Start.
    2. Right-click the Computer icon, and then click Properties.
    3. Click on System Protection under the Tasks column on the left side
    4. Click on Continue on the "User Account Control" window that pops up
    5. Under the System Protection tab, find Available Disks
    6. Uncheck the box for any drive you wish to disable system restore on (in most cases, drive "C:")
    7. When turning off System Restore, the existing restore points will be deleted. Click "Turn System Restore Off" on the popup window to do this.
    8. Click OK

    2. Restart computer.

    3. Turn System Restore on.

    4. Make sure, Windows Updates are current.

    5. If any Trojan was listed among your infection(s), make sure, you change all of your on-line important passwords (bank account(s), secured web sites, etc.) immediately!

    6. Download, and install WOT (Web OF Trust): http://www.mywot.com/. It'll warn you (in most cases) about dangerous web sites.

    7. Run Malwarebytes "Quick scan" once in a while to assure safety of your computer.

    8. Run Temporary File Cleaner (TFC) weekly.

    9. Download and install Secunia Personal Software Inspector (PSI). The Secunia PSI is a FREE security tool designed to detect vulnerable and out-dated programs and plug-ins which expose your PC to attacks. Run it weekly.

    10. Run defrag at your convenience.

    11. Read How did I get infected?, With steps so it does not happen again!: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic2520.html

    12. Please, let me know, how is your computer doing.
     
  18. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Thanks. Have done the above. Computer is running slicker than snot now. You. Are. Awesome!

    A couple of questions though:

    1) I have an external hard drive attached to this computer. We keep documents and photos on there and it is shared with the other computers on our little home workgroup/network. I've scanned it with Malwarebytes and it doesn't find anything. Do I need to do anything else?



    2) We have an online backup service (Mozy.com) that backs up that computer. Should I dump the files that are up there right now and start over? I don't want to have infected backup files online either...I believe it only replaces files that have changed each day when it backs them up.

    3) I have tried to download and set up Personal Software Inspector, but when I install it it tells me it is unable to connect to my profile on https://psi.secunia.com. Trouble is, there is no profile up there and seemingly no way of creating one.

    Thanks again for all the help!
     
  19. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

  20. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Yes, that one. I created a community log in, but apparently that isn't the one that is necessary. I run PSI and it still gives me that error.
     
  21. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    Can you post exact message?

    Try to reinstall it.
     
  22. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Tried to reinstall more than once and always get the same thing:

    I was able to run it on my Vista laptop, but this is my XP desktop and I'm having this problem.

    And if I put the address indicated, I get a "Firefox cannot find the server for psi.securia.com"
     
  23. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

    It won't connect through Firefox, not at that address. I can't do it either.
    I suspect, that address can be accessed only through PSI.

    Try to disable AVG, or try Safe Mode with Networking.
     
  24. Jantink

    Jantink TS Enthusiast Topic Starter Posts: 64

    Disabling AVG had no effect.

    I tried going back to an earlier version of it, since it seems there are issues with XP and this software. But it didn't help, got the same message.

    Anyway, they have a forum over there, so I will post to ask them if they know what the deal is and let you take your well-earned rest. Thanks for all your help!
     
  25. Broni

    Broni Malware Annihilator Posts: 52,897   +344

Topic Status:
Not open for further replies.

Similar Topics

Add New Comment

You need to be a member to leave a comment. Join thousands of tech enthusiasts and participate.
TechSpot Account You may also...