TechSpot

Code writers: Calendar for divorced people??

By billyellis
Jan 25, 2008
  1. I am not a code writer at all, so I am posting this idea here since I have had nothing but positive experiences on this board. If anyone can think of a way to whip this up, great!

Or if anyone knows of another site (like a programmer's forum) where I could post this query as well, that would also be appreciated. As I said, I am not a programmer, so I don't know where the programmers hang out. :)

But there have got to be some divorced programmers out there, and this seems like a really useful program to have written (if it doesn't already exist out there somewhere):

OK, you plan out your parenting (new terminology for 'custody') schedule for the upcoming month. But then a travel opportunity comes up, and you need to overlay a 4-day vacation on top of the pre-existing schedule, and then rearrange the rest of the month so the parenting time balance is kept the same (more or less). So for example, if a month of Sun-Sat looked like this:

X X Y Y Y X X
    Y Y X X X Y Y
    X X Y Y Y X X
    Y Y X X X Y Y
    X X Y

and there was a 4-day Y trip that needed to go in the 3rd week on Sun-Thurs. The first step would be to overlay the vacation:

X X Y Y Y X X
    Y Y X X X Y Y
    Y Y Y Y Y X X
    Y Y X X X Y Y
    X X Y

but this would take away 2 X days and create a stretch of 7 consecutive Y days, so the next step would be a "rearrange and balance" button that would adjust based on some preset rules such as:

1. even distribution of X and Y each month
    2. no more than 4 consecutive days of either X or Y
    3. X and Y must both have a similar number of weekend days per month
    4. schedule adjustment should focus on the days immediately before and after the travel period when possible

a. first sub-optimal permutation would include the sacrifice of a weekend day(s) from the vacation taker
    b. second sub-optimal permutation would allow a block of 5 consecutive days