Comodo Firewall

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peddant

As some people on Techspot, occasionally complain that the ubiquitous Zone Alarm
is less than perfect,I decided to check out Comodo firewall.Here are my random comments -

The good points :

1.It`s free.

2.It installs easily on my P.3 XP SP1 machine.

3.Appears to use even fewer resources than ZA.

4.The default settings seem about right,except for the Application behaviour monitoring,
which could be turned off

5.Has plenty of paranoia settings,for those who are that way inclined.

6.I like it better than ZA or Kerio and will to continue to use it,until blows up my system for no apparent reason.

The not so good points :

1.It`s more complicated than ZA,so for a complete novice,it could be offered as
a possible alternative to ZA,rather than a definite replacement.

2.It`s so "quiet",it`s sometimes difficult to know if it`s actually working at all (it is).

3.The developers still haven`t paid me yet.

dll validation too

one aspect I like is that when a DLL is loaded with network access, the firewall
can bless or deny access to the net at this level. This means you get a chance
to see what svchost (and other *.exe programs) is loading for fine-grain
control. You can set an option to LEARN the components and then after a couple
of days, revert to monitor components=ON
(so clearly, I like 4.the Application behaviour monitoring)

the logging is interesting, in that it reports the parent of the application,
the application itself, and the activity that was attempted. the classification of
Severe, High, Low risk is arbitrary, so don't get too alarmed at these.

the firewall comes PRE-CONFIGURED with not only reasonable defaults, but
it also is prepared to support a VPN connection;
allow IP/GRE {in,out}bound​

the access to port 53 (ie: dns) is caught and if the app/dll is not totally mapped
by the firewall, it is rated Severe (or was it High) Risk. Heck, all URL translations