Computer boots (most of the time) and then cuts out after 1-3 hours.

Status
Not open for further replies.

gerryc

Hey guys,

Ok, here's the problem. I've been using said computer for about 4 years. Never really had a problem. A few weeks ago, I got a new XPS 420 to replace it. So the old computer was left around for about a week before i moved it to another room and set it up. It booted the same as always and was running for 5 hours when it turn off. No "windows is shutting down", just a click, and then nothing. Since then, most of the time it boots okay (Sometimes it gets stuck on startup and i need to switch it off at the back.) but when its on for an hour or two, it turns off again. I checked the connections and noticed the the monitor port was moving a bit. I opened up the case, and it had come unstuck from the screw, but was still plugged in fully. Any clues. (By the way, this happens when i boot in XP and Vista.

Computer is a Medion from ALDI (I'm so ashamed :p)

Radeon 7000
Intel pentium 4
1gb RAM

Sorry, i dont know the rest of the spec, because i'm not on that computer at the moment. If you need more info, i'll boot it up and check.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Ger

Hmm... I was thinking of something like that, but i found it strange that it worked fine for years (being left on for days at a time) and now after 1 weeks of no use, it's not working... What did you have to do to fix it?

i just bought a new PSU, that fixed my problem.