Computer Building Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone! I have been doing some research on building my first new computer and I have been running into a LOT of problems, and after reading some of the posts here on TechSpot, I decided to get some "expert" advice from you guys! Let me try to explain...

I have never built a new system before. I have a little bit of experience with computer building, but I have a lot of questions about what I should get. I am currently running a Dell Dimension 4600C. It is pretty much factory stock, with a slimline case, a Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz, 640MB DDR (I added a little RAM), and Intel(R) 82865G 64MB Graphics Controller. The system runs fine for basic home computing, but I want to be able to play some of the newer games, so I decided an upgrade is in order.

I wanted to build a new computer using some new parts and some old parts from the current computer. I wanted to get a new case, and since the case I want is an ATX case, I think I have to buy a new ATX motherboard as well. This leads to my first question; Can I take my P4 processor out of my current Dell mobo and install it in the new mobo? This would save me money on buying a new processor.

I had planned on buying some more memory as well, and also a new video card and a new power supply. I read on here that some Dell equipment is proprietary. I planned on using the old processor, hard drive, CD drive, DVD player/drive, and that is probably about it. Does anyone spot anything I am missing?

This is what I planned on buying... (from NewEgg)

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811145047 (case)

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813131484 (mobo)

http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817190005 (psu)