Computer Crashing?! Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

cman21

Hey guys. I am going nuts over here. I am a computer technician too, which is making this even harder. I am way too tired trying to figure out this problem. First off, I need to show my specs:
AMD Athlon64 x2 3800+
ASUS A8N-E Motherboard
ATI x1600pro 256mb pci-express video
1GB DDR400 CAS2 MEMORY
250GB SATA2 Hard Drive
floppy, and all the other small parts

Now, This has to be my 10th time installing windows xp (32bit version). Once in a while, while playing games or anything to do with using the video card extensivley, the display locks up, but not my keyboard (i am able to turn on/off num lock still). The inside case temp stays at 30C, which I was told by AMD that it is sufficient with my current setup. I downloaded the demo programs from ATI to test the video out, and probably 2/3 times i run it it runs without a problem. The heatsink and fan on the video card is massive and works fine. Before I pull my hair out, im wondering if any of you guys have a suggestion what I possibly can do that doesnt deal with my hair or a hammer. Thanks. Dave

So this happens with anything 3D right? I've been hearing about slot voltage being an issue on certain motherboards.

I had a similar problem with my AGP Radeon 9600 where anything DX9 would cause VPU locks every few minutes. After bumping the AGP voltage up by +0.2v, the crashes became far more infrequent (now every few hours). Does anyone know more about this? On the other hand, the 9800 I had before ran fine at default voltage.