Computer died

Status
Not open for further replies.
My computer won't turn on when I changed the power supply.. if that's what you called it.. the thing with the fan? and 115 watt and 230 or seomthing.So anyway my old 1 was making all kinds of crazy sound so i brought a new 1 and replaced it. After I replaced the new power supply, i try to turn on my computer and it wouldn't turn on, and i didn't know if i try to turn on the system with 230 Watt cause i think im suppose to put it on 115 and i dind't know it setted to 230, so yeah i try to switch it back to 115 and it still won't work. I wanna know if i can get some help? Like if my cpu fried? Sorry im not really good at this so it is stupid of me to make a dumb mistake >< and this is my first time here in this website. Thanks

Welcome mate.
If you plugged in a 230v psu and turned it on when it should only be using a 115v, then yeah i'd say you've fried the lot!
Yes you made a dumb mistake....:rolleyes: been there, done that! :p
You aint the only one buddy, lol.

It is possible that the fuse inside the PSU has blown. Fixing this might be cheaper than a new PSU but DO NOT DO THIS YOURSELF! There are capacitors in there than can kill you. Take it to an electician and have them check the fuse for you.

I seriously wouldn't bother tbh. It could cost as much to have a sparky look at it as to buy a new one. Plus ALL his components could be fried chicken after that surge anyway.
I blew up a HP pc when i accidentally had it set at 115v istead of 230v. Although i would have thought that it just wouldn't have supplied enough voltage and nothing would work. But when you supply double what it expects (230v instead of 115v), surely thats when it goes BANG BANG FIZZLE!?
Krazygangsta, how much did you pay for your psu and what is its rating in wattage?