Computer freeze problem

Hi guys I am new to this forum, but thought somebody could help me out with this annoying problem I recently had with my computer. Much appreciated.

To start off, here’s my spec,

AMD Phenom II x3 710
GIGABYTE GA-MA770T-UD3P
G-Skill 4G DDR3 SDRAM 1333MHz
ATI RADEON HD 4890

Recently I decided to overclock my computer a little bit, you know, just simply raising the FBS and test stability and stuff, just to learn more about computers.

The highest speed I got to was 3.0 GHz, because I’m new to this so I didn’t want to go too far, and I only got stock fun as well.

My last configuration on the BIOS was this (and I never touched other configs);

Frequency: 2990
Ref*multi: 230*13
NB frequency: 2100
All others are in Auto mode.

I then ran Prime95 for 12h without any error, and temperature is around 44c (however when I ran prime95, the temperature raised to almost 70c), so I thought perhaps the system is stable, I then go on and played some game, Dirt3 and FIFA11. However after I entered the game for 5-10m, my computer freezes, no blue screen though, just freeze. This happens only when I play big games.

So I used the jumper on my motherboard and reset the BIOS, I thought the problem would go away but it didn’t, same thing still happening. So I did some research and ran Memtest86+ as well without any error.

This is where I’m up to at the moment; I don’t know where to look for problems and how to fix them anymore. Please help me get my computer back to normal. I’d never do overclock again I think…

If you need more information, I’d be happy to provide. Thank you!

Hi,