Computer not Starting up

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi.

I'm new to techspots, trying to find solutions to problems i've been having with my computer as of lately.

My computer has been freezing for the past 3-4 weeks. I've installed different versions of windows a gazillion times, but maybe after 1 day (or even right when it's installed) windows freezes. When i restarted my computer it kept freezing when starting up getting the windows icon, or it would freeze right when it entered windows. Nothing i could do but restart. I restarted so many times i can't count, and maybe 1 in 20 or 30 tries windows would work properly only to freeze a few hours later.
When windows worked i could play games that need a beefy pc, so it couldn't have been a problem with processing or graphics card or in that direction.

My specs are:

P5E3 motherboard
2gb dd3 ram
ati radeon 4870
700 megawats psu
2x 250 7200 rpm sata hard drives.

Today i reinstalled another version of windows and deleted everything. Previous installations i kept my e and d drives and installed windows on the c drive, but i thought there might be a glitch/virus/bug on my other drives which caused windows to crash/freeze. Anyways xp worked fine and everything when installed, all software was being installed and then when i was installing a game it crashed again.
This time i tried restarting another 10 times, nothing happening, getting a black screen after windows startup icon. Then i restart again, and nothing happens.
Absolutely nothing, i can hear my hard drives running, fans are going full speed and all lights are green on the motherboard.

Can anyone help with solving this problem? I'm thinking it has to be my motherboard. The freezes have been totally random, and can't be due to overheating since i've checked temperatures many times and could run demanding games for hours when windows worked. Besides that, it could freeze when randomly browsing the internet or even doing nothing.