Computer Shutdown - Need cooling help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tongan

My computer is constantly shutting itself down, but only when I am gaming.
After playing a game (e.g Brothers in Arms) for maybe 15 minutes, the computer just turns off!! It is getting really annoying and I'm worried the computer could be damaged if this continues.

I am guessing this problem is heat related and I was wondering (Since I have no knowledge in cooling) if anyone could help me find compatible cooling hardware for my computer, or even some tips that don't involve $$.

Any help is appreciated, and I can provide all system specs and temps if needed.

It's not only heat that could be causing the problem. It could also be power related. If your card isn't getting enough power, it's enough of a problem to cause shutdowns. So you may want to check what kind of specs you get with your current power supply, and double check to see if it provides enough power. I'm no expert on making those kinds of calculations. I only know enough about what might be causing the problem.

Typically shutdowns are related to a few things:
1) thermal events
2) insufficient power
3) corrupted memory
4) corrupted hard drive

Since you only experience the shutdowns during gaming, that means you can rule out #s 3 and 4. Post the specs of what your computer is running, and the power supply you have. It'll aid in further narrowing the cause between heat or power.

Specs

Computer Specs:
CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4, 3066 MHz (23 x 133)
Motherboard Name: Acer E661GXM
RAM: 512 MB (PC3200 DDR SDRAM)
Motherboard Chipset: SiS 661GX
Video Card: RADEON X800 PRO/GTO (256 MB)
Hard Drive Total Size: 145.6 GB (87.8 GB free)
DMI System Product: Aspire SA80

Power supply (Not sure whether this stuff makes any sense):
CPU Core: 1.34 V
+2.5 V: 2.64 V
+3.3 V: 3.30 V
+5 V: 4.89 V
+12 V: 11.46 V
+5 V: Standby 4.92 V

My monitor, Tower and internet Modem are all plugged into the same multi-adapter.