Computer started smoking, now won`t turn on.

Status
Not open for further replies.

teddymonster

ok having a problem with my computer..

its only like 3 years old i think

ok so i turned my computer on one morning, and left to eat breakfest, took like 5minutes then i went back to my computer and it was shut off. so i tried turning it back on but it wouldn't turn on. i opened the side, took bit of dust off of fan... not taht it did anything, i hit the power switch, the fans starting spinning, then suddenly STOPPED and this grey box with outlets in them a fan and some other wires started to smoke... and now my comp won't turn on! :( can someone possibly tell me what i have to do??

P.S im not very good with computers or the language / short forms, can you be specific please :)

o and my comp has

pentium / 3.1GHz
1.24GB ram
80GB hard drive
all i know :D

grey box with outlets in them a fan and some other wires started to smoke...

Sounds like a toasted power supply. Hopefully thats the only thing that fried and it'll be the only thing you have to replace.

sounds like your power supply cooked ! I would recomend dusting your machine from time to time ! Dust and electronics aren't the best of friends you know . Buy a new power supply , put it in and hope nothing else got fryed !

thanks :D ye i dusted my whole machine 2day b/c a friend said that was the reason it wasn't turning on :p and wow their was A LOT of dust, but i guess that wasn't the reason :S

how much does a power supply usually cost??

and ye i dun wanna start a new topic, but my computer sucks :p nothing but problems... heres a few :( my CD ROM won't read any discs i put in and my computer can't find the drive.. its suppsoed 2 be in 'My Computer' no? its not there, either is my DVD drive, and both are plugged in and such, my computer just won't find them, sorry if its unclear. also sometimes my computer starts up and has no sound... why?? ye i don't know much lol