Connecting to Router - Won't receive packets, but connects to SSID!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey guys,

This is my first time posting, so please forgive me if I am not descriptive enough!

What I am dealing with: Netgear router, Netgear wireless 108 card. Directly connected computer and wireless computer use Windows XP.

I have a Netgear WPN824V2 router that I am trying to set up. I was able to set up a SSID and password and even connect to the SSID...but for some reason, my wireless computer would send packets, but not receive any!

I tried messing around with settings like setting my DNS and IP address to be detected automatically for both the computer that's connected directly to the router and the computer that's wirelessly receiving an internet connection. I even did stuff like ipconfig/reset and ipconfig/renew. Nothing happened. On all those times, the connection registered as "EXCELLENT," but I couldn't load any webpages! Even moved the wireless card to another PCI slot to see if it was busted. Also uploaded newest firmware into the router from Netgear website. No luck there either!

The funny part is that I previously bought another Netgear router, and tried setting it up. Had the same problem. Packets being sent, but none being received.

Back at my old apartment a year ago, the connection ran flawlessly with my older linksys router and the same wireless card. But at that time, I got help from Netgear customer assistance, and I was running off of Roadrunner Cable at that time. This time, I am using SBC DSL.

Please help me! I am willing to go from the very first step since I am afraid that my setup itself might be wrong.

Oh and another thing to note is that even though my DSL modem is connected to my router, and my "directly connected" computer is connected to the router, I can't access the internet with the directly connected computer.

Please help me!

OK. One step at a time.